San Francisco Events

FERRY PLAZA FARMERS MARKET

Saturday, June 15, 2024 - 12:00pm

Please join us for a special meet & greet signing event with trained chef and registered dietitian Micah Siva accompanying her Foodwise demo at the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market. This signing is in celebration of Nosh...elevating beloved Jewish flavors into everyday life.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Monday, June 17, 2024 - 5:30pm

Horror Movie, by Paul Tremblay, is an obsessive, psychologically chilling, and suspenseful feat of storytelling genius that builds inexorably to an unforgettable, mind-bending conclusion. Joined in-conversation with Christopher Golden, author of The House of Last Resort and Richard Kadrey The Dead Take the A Train

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Tuesday, June 18, 2024 - 5:30pm

Family Lore traces the lives of each of the Marte women, weaving together past and present, Santo Domingo and New York City. Told with Elizabeth Acevedo’s inimitable and incandescent voice, this is an indelible portrait of sisters and cousins, aunts and nieces—one family’s journey through their history, helping them better navigate all that is to come. Joined in-conversation with Yalitza Ferreras.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Wednesday, June 19, 2024 - 5:30pm

Crossing the Desert gives readers an intimate look at how the paths we choose, the values we embrace, and the systems we decide to participate in (or not) can make or break us, not only financially, but spiritually. Payam Zamani’s story is a timely reminder that enduring and embracing life’s most difficult journeys can lead us to a brighter future—not only for ourselves, but for the people around us, and even the world. 

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Saturday, June 22, 2024 - 3:00pm

This raw and unflinching memoir welcomes readers into the heart of Karl Dunn's transformative journey-burning the scripts written for him by both the gay and straight worlds, facing down his deepest fears, and forging his own path to self-love. How To Burn A Rainbow is a gripping narrative of resilience and courage that dares to ask the hard questions about love, equality, and the price of happiness.

FERRY BUILDING

Sunday, June 23, 2024 - 2:00pm

 

Alternating between both timelines, Four Squares, by Bobby Finger, is an intimate look at what it means to find community at any age. With humor and compassion, it honors the enduring power of queer friendship, its history, and how essential it is to keep those stories alive.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Tuesday, June 25, 2024 - 5:30pm

Family Values is a photography book presenting approximately 90 images featuring Kurt, Courtney, and their baby Frances, one morning in their modest Hollywood home selected from a photoshoot that Guzman did for Spin magazine in 1992. Only five photographs from the shoot were published in the magazine at the time, including the cover.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Wednesday, June 26, 2024 - 5:30pm

Daughter of Calamity, by Rosalie M. Lin, Genres collide in this dark and atmospheric reimagining of 1930s Shanghai for fans of Nghi Vo and S. A. Chakraborty. Joined in conversation with Sara Hashem.

FERRY BUILDING

Thursday, June 27, 2024 - 5:30pm

 

You're Safe Here by Leslie Stephens - Wellness, motherhood, and technology converge in a near future California, as three women’s seemingly innocuous decisions have further-reaching consequences than any of them could imagine in this timely, clever, and white-knuckled thriller. Joined in-conversation with Kyla Zhao. Author of Valley Verified.

FERRY BUILDING

Wednesday, July 3, 2024 - 5:30pm

 

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jennifer Niven comes Before and After You and Me, by Dallas Woodburn a breathtakingly original contemporary YA novel about love, grief, art, and the tiny choices that change our lives. Orchid Blooming is the captivating first book in the Goodbye, Orchid contemporary fiction series. If you like complex characters overcoming trauma, heart-warming stories, and compassionate connections, then you'll adore award-winning author Carol Van Den Hende's emotionally satisfying page-turner.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Sunday, July 7, 2024 - 2:00pm

Written with Marjan Kamali’s signature “evocative, devastating, and hauntingly beautiful” (Whitney Scharer, author of The Age of Light) prose, The Lion Women of Tehran is a sweeping exploration of how profoundly we are shaped by those we meet when we are young, and the way love and courage transforms our lives.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Tuesday, July 9, 2024 - 5:30pm

Now with a daughter and career to protect, the last thing Lou wants is for Highfield Manor to be back in her life. But to finally free herself and others, she has to confront her past, go to battle once more, and discover, for once and for all, what really happened at Highfield. Powerful and compelling, When We Were Silentby Fiona McPhillips is an unputdownable, thrilling story of exploitation, privilege, and retribution.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Wednesday, July 10, 2024 - 5:30pm

In Intertwined, writer and wildlife biologist Rebecca Kormos elevates the voices of women working to prevent the climate crisis, weaving together their stories to make a powerful case for why women are essential to changing our current trajectory toward catastrophic global warming and environmental degradation. Joined in-conversation with Dr. Liza Keānuenueokalani Williams, a Kanaka Maoli (Native Hawaiian) writer, activist, facilitator, teacher and scholar.

FERRY BUILDING

Thursday, July 11, 2024 - 5:30pm

 

Subjectified is a book about subjects, objects, and verbs. The book is for everybody wanting to understand themselves better as subjects. Wholeheartedly, the author, Suzannah Weiss, invites you to follow her search for subjecthood and, should you desire, forge your own path out of objecthood. Joined in-conversation with Dr. Carol Queen.

FERRY BUILDING

Sunday, July 14, 2024 - 2:00pm

 

While Darwin was perplexed and ultimately dismissive of these seemingly useless body parts, Organs of Little Importance reframes and repositions the apparent uselessness of our compulsions, superstitions, errant thoughts, and other selves. In diptychs and ghazals, sonnets and lullabies, Adrienne Chung collects and preserves pieces of psychological debris as one would care for precious heirlooms, revealing their surprising potential to become sites of meaning and connection.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 - 5:30pm

 

Based on interviews with legendary cartoonists—Roz Chast, Sam Gross, Harry Bliss, Joe Dator, Mick Stevens, and many others—Funny Stuff offers a revealing look at the creative process, describing how cartoonists come up with ideas and what their cartoons say about their often twisted view of the world. 

FERRY PLAZA FARMERS MARKET

Saturday, July 27, 2024 - 12:00pm

Please join us for a special meet & greet signing event with award-winning cookbook author Maria Zizka accompanying her Foodwise demo (starting at 11am) at the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market. This signing is in celebration of The Hostess Handbook...everything you need to know to throw your next epic dinner party!

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Saturday, July 27, 2024 - 3:00pm

A Punishing Breed, by DC Frost, the first in a series of novels featuring Detective DJ Arias, is a murder mystery that takes place in Los Angeles, the city of angels, freeways, Santa Ana winds, and honeysuckle slithering through chain-link fences and perfuming LA's dark streets and neighborhoods. Under a Neon Sun by Kate Gale -- Unable to afford rent, Mia--a community college student--lives out of her car, cleaning houses of the well-to-do in the LA area to meet her shoestring budget. Then Covid hits, and everything changes.

Moderated by Saul Gonzalez who has been the Los Angeles co-host of public radio’s statewide show, The California Report since 2019.

FERRY BUILDING

Sunday, July 28, 2024 - 2:00pm

 

Twenty years ago, she survived. This time she may not be so lucky.

On the night that changed everything, Amy Brewer walked out of a house party, trudging angrily away from the friends who made her feel like she didn't belong. Within the next hour, all five of those friends would be dead.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Thursday, August 8, 2024 - 5:30pm

Written in taut, urgent prose, Hum is a work of speculative fiction that unflinchingly explores marriage, motherhood, and selfhood in a world compromised by global warming and dizzying technological advancement, a world of both dystopian and utopian possibilities. As New York Times bestselling author Jeff VanderMeer says, “Helen Phillips, in typical bravura fashion, has found a way to make visible uncomfortable truths about our present by interrogating the near-future.” Joined in conversation with Anna Wiener, author of Uncanny Valley

FERRY BUILDING TICKETED EVENT

Saturday, August 10, 2024 - 1:00pm

 

Come join us at the Ferry Building as we celebrate the world's oddest drag artist and winner of RuPaul's Drag Race season eleven, Yvie Oddly with an extraordinary meet & greet book signing for her inspiring new memoir All About Yvie.

Each ticket to this non-seated event will include entry to the signing line plus an opportunity for a candid photo taken with Yvie Oddly.

FERRY BUILDING

Sunday, August 11, 2024 - 2:00pm

 

In Telltale Hearts, Schillinger reveals what is lost when patients’ stories are ignored or overlooked, and how much is gained when these stories are actively elicited. The stories themselves, at times shocking and always revelatory, disclose secrets, prompt awe, forge unexpected connections, and even catalyze public health action. Telltale Hearts serves as a call to action, urging us to reshape public policy to improve the nation's health.

FERRY PLAZA FARMERS MARKET

Saturday, August 24, 2024 - 12:00pm

Please join us for a special meet & greet signing event food writer Sara Calvosa Olson acompanying her Foodwise demo at the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market. This signing is in celebration of Chími Nu'am: Native California Foodways for the Contemporary KitchenMore than seventy delectable recipes that bring California's Indigenous cuisines into kitchens today.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Thursday, August 29, 2024 - 5:30pm

Paula Lehman-Ewing frames each profile within two fundamental truths: The current system—built and sustained by oppression, extraction, and inequity by design—cannot be reformed. Reimagining the Revolution is a call to action for each of us: if we can access the tools we have, we can dream bigger, think outside the box, and follow the paths laid out by change-making activists toward nothing short of revolution. Joined in-conversation with Ken Oliver, the VP of Checkr.org and Executive Director of the Checkr Foundation.

FERRY BUILDING STORE

Tuesday, September 17, 2024 - 5:30pm

Mara Kardas-Nelson’s We Are Not Able to Live in the Sky is a story about unintended consequences, blind optimism, and the decades-long ramifications of seemingly small policy choices, rooted in the stories of women borrowers in Sierra Leone, West Africa; their narratives are set against the rise of Yunus’s vision that tiny loans would “put poverty in museums,” explored through a deep history of modern international development.