Rita Chang-Eppig with Hannah Michell - Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea (ESCOM College of Marin)

Rita Chang-Eppig
In conversation with Hannah Michell

Deep as the Sky,
Red as the Sea

Fri., April 19, 2024 • 1:00pm PT
College of Marin • Free Event

This event will be hosted by College of Marin. Please contact events@bookpassage.com with questions.
 

Join us in celebration of this author event at College of Marin: In this event, Rita Chang-Eppig will talk about her brilliant novel, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea, a dazzling historical novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet from the forces allied against them, and the dangerous price of power.

Admission is free and all are welcome. You don't need a ticket. Parking for these events is easy and free.

More information: https://library.marin.edu/ or (415) 485-9475. These events are sponsored by the Emeritus Students of College of Marin.


A Good Morning America Buzz Pick

For readers of OutlawedPiranesi, and The Night Tiger, a dazzling historical novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet from the forces allied against them, and the dangerous price of power.

As Recommended By
The TODAY Show * Washington Post * Goodreads * LitHub * Real Simple * Time * Popsugar * HuffPost * Los Angeles Times * Ms. Magazine * Book Riot * Elle.com * The Rumpus * Tor.com * Polygon * Debutiful * Electric Lit * Shondaland *



A book of salt and grit, blood and sweat, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea is an unmissable portrait of a woman who leads with the courage and ruthlessness of our darkest and most beloved heroes.

When Shek Yeung sees a Portuguese sailor slay her husband, a feared pirate, she knows she must act swiftly or die. Instead of mourning, Shek Yeung launches a new plan: immediately marrying her husband’s second-in-command, and agreeing to bear him a son and heir, in order to retain power over her half of the fleet.

But as Shek Yeung vies for control over the army she knows she was born to lead, larger threats loom. The Chinese Emperor has charged a brutal, crafty nobleman with ridding the South China Seas of pirates, and the Europeans—tired of losing ships, men, and money to Shek Yeung’s alliance—have new plans for the area. Even worse, Shek Yeung’s cutthroat retributions create problems all their own. As Shek Yeung navigates new motherhood and the crises of leadership, she must decide how long she is willing to fight, and at what price, or risk losing her fleet, her new family, and even her life.

 

Rita Chang-Eppig received her MFA in fiction from NYU. Her novel about an infamous Chinese pirate queen, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea, was a Barnes & Noble Discover, Indie Next, Indies Introduce, and Good Morning America Buzz pick. Her stories have appeared in The Best American Short Stories 2021, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, Conjunctions, Clarkesworld, Virginia Quarterly Review, One Story, and elsewhere. She has received fellowships from the Rona Jaffe Foundation, the Vermont Studio Center, the Writers Grotto, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies at San Jose State University.

Hannah Michell grew up in Seoul. She studied anthropology and philosophy at Cambridge University and now lives in California with her husband and children. She teaches in the Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies Program at the University of California, Berkeley. Excavations is her American debut.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rita Chang-Eppig photo courtesy of the author. Hannah Michell photo credit Nan Phelps.

 

Location: 

Academic Center, Room 255
835 College Ave.
Kentfield, CA 94904
Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea By Rita Chang-Eppig Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639730377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title for More Details
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 30th, 2023

Excavations: A Novel By Hannah Michell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593596050
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title for More Details
Published: One World - July 11th, 2023