Paz Pardo with Ally Glass-Katz - The Shamshine Blind (Ferry Building Store)

Paz Pardo
in conversation with Ally Glass-Katz

The Shamshine Blind

Book Passage (SF Ferry Building)

Thurs., February 16, 2023 • 6:00pm PT

This event will be hosted in-person at Book Passage's SF Ferry Building Store. Please contact webmaster@bookpassage.com with questions regarding events.

*Please note that masks are required at this event.*

 

A beguiling blend of noir detective story and science fiction perfect for fans of Michael Chabon and Emily St. John Mandel, this unputdownable debut imagines a world where emotions have been weaponized, and a small-town law enforcement agent uncovers a conspiracy to take down what’s left of American democracy.

In an alternate 2009, the United States has been a second-rate power for a quarter of a century, ever since Argentina’s victory in the Falkland’s War thanks to their development of “psychopigments.” Created as weapons, these colorful chemicals can produce almost any human emotion upon contact, and they have been embraced in the US as both pharmaceutical cure-alls and popular recreational drugs. Black market traders illegally sell everything from Blackberry Purple (which causes terror) to Sunshine Yellow (which delivers happiness).

Psychopigment Enforcement Agent Kay Curtida works a beat in Daly City, just outside the ruins of San Francisco, chasing down smalltime crooks. But when an old friend shows up with a tantalizing lead on a career-making case, Curtida’s humdrum existence suddenly gets a boost. Little does she know that this case will send her down a tangled path of conspiracy and lead to an overdue reckoning with her family and with the truth of her own emotions.

Told in the voice of a funny, brooding, Latinx Sam Spade, The Shamshine Blind is “a rip-roaring beautifully crafted mash-up of cop noir, sci-fi, and alt-history that left me dazzled by its prescience and literary zing” (Leah Hampton, author of F*ckface).

Paz Pardo is an Argentine-American award-winning playwright and novelist. She received her MFA from the Michener Center for Writers, her undergraduate degree from Stanford University, and is the recipient of a Fulbright scholarship. Raised in America, she currently lives in Argentina. The Shamshine Blind is her first novel. Find out more at PazSays.com.

Ally Glass-Katz is a writer based in the Bay Area. A graduate of the Michener Center for Writers, her work has appeared in The Southern Review, Sewanee Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, and elsewhere. 

 

Paz Pardo photo courtesy of Enrique Lozano; Ally Glass-Katz photo courtesy of author

Location: 

Book Passage Ferry Building
1 Ferry Building
san francisco, CA 94111
The Shamshine Blind: A Novel By Paz Pardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982185329
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 14th, 2023