Paula Stone Williams - As a Woman (Online Event)

Wednesday, June 30, 2021 - 1:00pm


............................................................................................................................................................................................................


Book Passage Presents  

Wed., June 30th, 2021 • 1:00pm PT • Live • Online

In conversation with Cathy Rath

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR E-NEWSLETTER
This event will be broadcast live and does not require registration to attend. To view, please click the "Watch Here" button at the time of the event, or subscribe to our e-newsletter to receive a ten-minute reminder.

 

A moving and unforgettable memoir of a transgender pastor’s journey from despair to joy as she transitioned from male to female and learned about gender inequity, at home and in the workplace—perfect for fans of Redefining Realness and There Is Room for You.

As a father of three, married to a wonderful woman, and holding several prominent jobs within the Christian community, Dr. Paula Stone Williams made the life-changing decision to physically transition from male to female at the age of sixty. Almost instantly, her power and influence in the evangelical world disappeared and her family had to grapple with intense feelings of loss and confusion.

Feeling utterly alone and at a loss after being expelled from the evangelical churches she had once spearheaded, Paula struggled to create a new safe space for herself where she could reconcile her faith, her identity, and her desire to be a leader. Much to her surprise, the key to her new career as a woman came with a deeper awareness of the inequities she had overlooked before her transition. Where her opinions were once celebrated and amplified, now she found herself sidelined and ignored. New questions emerged. Why are women’s opinions devalued in favor of men’s? Why does love and intimacy feel so different? And, was it possible to find a new spirituality in her own image?

In As a Woman, Paula pulls back the curtain on her transition journey and sheds light on the gendered landscape that impacts many in the LGBTQ+ community. She urges men to recognize the ways in which the world is tilted in their favor and validates the experiences of women who have been disregarded based solely on their gender, while also acknowledging how she was once like those men who are blind to their privilege. With equal parts humility and confidence, Paula shares her lived experience of both genders and offers a truly unique perspective on the universal struggle to understand what it means to be male, female, and simply, human.

Dr. Paula Stone Williams is an internationally known speaker on gender equity, LGBTQ advocacy, and religious tolerance. She is also a pastor and pastoral counselor in Boulder County, Colorado. Paula has been featured in The New York Times, TEDWomen, TEDSummit, TEDxMileHigh, Red Table Talk, The Denver Post, New York Post, New Scientist Magazine, Radio New Zealand, and many other media outlets. Her TED talks have had more than five million views.

Born and raised in New York, Cathy Rath completed her education at UCSB and SFSU where she is a professor in the public health department. For the past 11 years, she has taught Women’s Health to undergraduate students and a cohort of graduate students from SFSU’s Post Baccalaureate health promotions program. Cathy added Community Building in Community Health to her course repertoire in 2015. A writing coach and tutor from middle school to the graduate school level, Cathy also guides debut writers in crafting and completing their books. As a social justice advocate and organizer, she led public health campaigns at Planned Parenthood and Transforming Communities, where her innovative approach to violence prevention was published by the National Resource Center on Domestic Violence. Her efforts to reduce violence against women earned her the 2000 Millennium Leadership Award by the Marin Independent Journal. In January 2021, Cathy published her first novel, Ripple Effect, drawing upon the profound experiences she had while involved in a variety of protest movements during the turbulence of the '70s. Ms. Rath resides in the San Francisco Bay Area.

 

Paula Stone Williams photo by Rebecca Stumpf

 

Location: 

As a Woman: What I Learned about Power, Sex, and the Patriarchy after I Transitioned Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982153342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - June 1st, 2021

Ripple Effect Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781736090800
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Swan Lake Press - November 23rd, 2020