National Kidney Foundation - 35th Annual Author Luncheon (SF Palace Hotel In-Person and Online)

San Francisco's Palace Hotel In-Person or Online Live
Saturday, October 28 • 12:00pm PT/3:00pm ET


This year the Authors Luncheon celebrates 35 years of uniting best-selling authors and tens of thousands of literary enthusiasts for the benefit of kidney patients everywhere. Join us on Saturday, October 28, 2023 at San Francisco's historic Palace Hotel as we reflect on the advancements made in kidney care and look forward to the lives we can change together.

The National Kidney Foundation’s Authors Luncheon is the largest literary event of its kind in the Bay Area, allowing those who are passionate about literature to join with NKF in the effort to transform kidney care and improve the lives of millions through education, advocacy, and research.


2023 Featured Authors

Lee Child

Lee Child is the author of more than two dozen New York Times-best-selling Jack Reacher thrillers, with most having reached the #1 position, and the #1 best-selling complete Jack Reacher story collection, No Middle Name. Foreign rights in the Reacher series have sold in one hundred territories. A native of England and a former television director, Lee Child lives in New York City and Wyoming.

Anita Gail Jones

Born and raised in Albany, Georgia, Anita maintains a strong connection with this southwest corner of the state. This region is the setting for her novel, The Peach Seed; the manuscript was selected as a 2021 Finalist in the PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction. and was acquired by Retha Powers at Holt in a two-book deal for publication in August 2023.

Lauren Groff

Lauren Groff is a three-time National Book Award finalist and the New York Times-bestselling author of the novels The Monsters of Templeton, Arcadia, Fates and Furies and Matrix, and the short story collections Delicate Edible Birds and Florida. She has won the Story Prize and has been a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Groff’s work regularly appears in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, and elsewhere, and she was named one of Granta’s 2017 Best Young American Novelists.

Mac Barnett & Shawn Harris

Mac Barnett is a New York Times-bestselling author of stories for children. His books have been translated into more than thirty languages and sold more than 2 million copies worldwide.
Shawn Harris's first illustrated book, Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers, received seven starred reviews and was an Orbis Pictus Award Honor Book, an ALA Notable Book, and a PW Best Book of the Year. His authorial debut, Have You Ever Seen a Flower, is a Caldecott Honor award winner.


Palace Hotel
2 New Montgomery St.
San Francisco, CA 94105
Pre-Order Now Badge
The Secret: A Jack Reacher Novel By Lee Child, Andrew Child Cover Image
ISBN: 9781984818584
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 24th, 2023

The Peach Seed: A Novel By Anita Gail Jones Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250872050
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - August 1st, 2023

The Vaster Wilds: A Novel By Lauren Groff Cover Image
ISBN: 9780593418390
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title for More Details
Published: Riverhead Books - September 12th, 2023

Pre-Order Now Badge
The First Cat in Space and the Soup of Doom By Mac Barnett, Shawn Harris (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Shawn Harris (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780063084117
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 3rd, 2023