Melanie Thorne - Hand Me Down, in conversation with John Lescroart

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 - 7:00pm

Order a signed copyin conversation with John Lescroart

Melanie Thorne talks about her novel Hand Me Down ($25.95). It begins with Liz’s mother swearing, “I would never hurt you, Liz.” This act propels Liz between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult attempting to force her to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances.

 

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us
Hand Me Down Cover Image
ISBN: 9780525952688
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Dutton Books - April 12th, 2012

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, "Hand Me Down" is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes.