Meg Waite Clayton - The Race for Paris

Friday, August 28, 2015 - 7:00pm

Opening in Normandy on June 29, 1944, The Race for Paris follows two American female war correspondents on their quest to document and make history by covering the Allied liberation of Paris. Jane is a young, single journalist for the Nashville Banner who meets Olivia, an Associated Press photographer after being assigned to cover a field hospital. However, unlike their male colleagues, Liv and Jane are constantly confronted by red tape and derision because the military believes women cannot handle the violence of combat journalism. Jane is resigned to making the most of her assignment, but Liv is determined to get to Paris. After failing to win over her commanding officer, Liz decides to seize her chance to make a name for herself and Jane joins her.

Reluctantly accompanied by Fletcher, a male British military reporter, the two women chase their story through the gunfire, carnage, and death scarring the French countryside. Their journey is further complicated by emotional bonds, romantic tensions, and one woman's secret with the power to end her career and perhaps her life. Inspired by pioneering World War II journalists such as Margaret Bourke-White and Martha Gellhorn this novel combines riveting storytelling with deft literary craftsmanship and extensive research in a passionate narrative of women driven to transcend the limitations of their time.

Meg Waite Clayton lived for several years on a horse farm in northern Maryland. She now lives in Palo Alto and Santa Barbara with her husband and two young sons. She has previously written four novels including The Four Mrs. Bradwells, The Wednesday Sisters, The Language of Light, and The Wednesday Daughters. Her stories have appeared in The Virginia Quarterly Review, The Literary Review, and elsewhere. 

51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
The Race for Paris: A Novel Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062354631
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - August 11th, 2015

National Bestseller

David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015