Marla Cooper - Terror in Taffeta (Corte Madera)

Saturday, March 26, 2016 - 4:00pm

In Terror in Taffeta, wedding planner Kelsey McKenna is just a few hours away from wrapping up her latest job: a destination wedding in the charming, colonial Mexican town of San Miguel de Allende. The reception is all set up, the tequila donkey is waiting outside, and the bride and groom are standing on the altar, pledging their eternal love. But just as the priest is about to pronounce them husband and wife, one of the bridesmaids upstages the couple by collapsing into a floral arrangement. Worst of all, Kelsey discovers that she hasn't just fainted—she's dead. The demanding mother of the bride, Mrs. Abernathy, insists Kelsey not tell the wedding party; she paid for a wedding after all, not a funeral.

Losing a bridesmaid is bad enough, but when the bride's sister is arrested for murder, Mrs. Abernathy demands that Kelsey fix the matter at once. And although she's pretty sure investigating a murder isn't in her contract, crossing the well-connected mother of the bride could be a career-killer. Before she can leave Mexico and get back to planning weddings, Kelsey must deal with stubborn detectives, another dead body, and a rekindled romance in this smart, funny cozy debut perfect for fans of Carolyn Haines.

Marla Cooper is the pen name of a professional writer who was written everything from advertising copy to travel guidebooks to the occasional haiku. While ghostwriting a book on destination weddings, she found inspiration for her first novel. Originally hailing from Texas, Marla now lives in Oakland, California.

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
Terror in Taffeta: A Mystery (Kelsey McKenna Destination Wedding Mysteries #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250072566
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Minotaur Books - March 22nd, 2016