Laurie King & Les Klinger - Echoes of Sherlock Holmes (Corte Madera)

Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 5:00pm

In a stunning follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger present a brand-new anthology of stories inspired by the Arthur Conan Doyle canon.

Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon puts forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly-regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

To the editors’ great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes’s adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!

Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories—however some do fit that mold—instead these writers were asked to be inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as readers new to Doyle’s writing—indeed, for all readers who love exceptional storytelling.

Laurie R. King is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, including the Mary Russell-Sherlock Holmes stories. She has won or been nominated for a multitude of prizes, has been chosen as the guest of honor at several crime conventions, and is probably the only writer to have both an Edgar Award and an honorary doctorate in theology. She was inducted into the Baker Street Irregulars in 2010.

Leslie S. Klinger is one of the world's foremost authorities on Sherlock Holmes. He is the editor of the three-volume set The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes. The first two volumes, The Complete Short Stories, won the Edgar for "Best Critical/Biographical" work. He is also the editor of The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft. Klinger is a member of the Baker Street Irregulars and lives in Malibu.


 

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon Cover Image
By Laurie R. King (Editor), Leslie S. Klinger (Editor)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781681772257
Availability: Special Order
Published: Pegasus Books - October 4th, 2016


To the editors' great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes's adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents.


Mary Russell's War (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781464207334
Availability: Special Order
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - October 11th, 2016

A dynamic short story collection that illuminates many hidden corners of the beloved, best-selling Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series.

Since the first book-length "memoir" appeared in 1994, the partnership of young Mary Russell and her more famous partner, Sherlock Holmes, has excited a community of readers, young and old.