Kazuo Ishiguro - The Buried Giant

Wednesday, April 1, 2015 - 7:00pm

Angelico Hall, Dominican University

Tickets: $35 (includes a signed copy of the book)

Co-sponsored by OLLI along with the School of Arts Humanities and Social Science 

In conversation with Dave Eggers

In Kazuo Ishiguro’s much-anticipated new release, The Buried Giant, the Romans have long since departed, and Britain is steadily declining into ruin—but at least the wars that once ravaged the country have ceased.

The novel begins as a couple, Axl and Beatrice, set off across a troubled land of mist and rain in hopes of finding a son they have not seen for years. They expect to face many hazards--some strange and other-worldly--but they cannot yet foresee how their journey will reveal to them dark and forgotten corners of their love for one another. Sometimes savage, often intensely moving, Kazuo Ishiguro's first novel in a decade is about lost memories, love, revenge and war.

Kazuo Ishiguro is one of the most celebrated contemporary fiction authors in the English-speaking world, having received four Man Booker Prize nominations, and winning the 1989 award for his novel The Remains of the Day. In 2008, The New York Times ranked Ishiguro 32nd on their list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945.” Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain at the age of 5. He is the author of 6 novels: A Pale View of Hills (1982, Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize), An Artist of the Floating World (1986, Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, shortlisted for the Booker Prize), The Remains of the Day (1989, winner of the Booker Prize), The Unconsoled (1995, winner of the Cheltenham Prize), When We Were Orphans (2000, shortlisted for the Booker Prize) and Never Let Me Go (2005, Corine Internationaler Buchpreis, Serono Literary Prize, Casino de Santiago European Novel Award, shortlisted for the Booker Prize). Nocturnes, his connected stories collection, was awarded the Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa International Literary Prize. Ishiguro received an OBE for Services to Literature in 1995 and the French decoration of Chevalier de L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 1998.

Dave Eggers is the author of The Circle and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. He is the founder of McSweeney's, an independent publishing house in San Francisco that produces books, a quarterly journal of new writing (McSweeneys's Quarterly Concern), and the monthly magainze The Believer.

Angelico Hall, Dominican University
50 Acacia Avenue
San Rafael, CA 94941
The Buried Giant: A novel Cover Image
ISBN: 9780307271037
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - March 3rd, 2015

From the author of Never Let Me Go and the Booker Prize-winning The Remains of the Day