Katie Hafner with Michael Krasny - The Boys (Corte Madera Store)

Katie Hafner
in conversation with Michael Krasny

The Boys

Corte Madera Store

Sun., October 23, 2022 • 4:00pm PT

This event will be hosted in-person at Book Passage's Corte Madera Store. Please contact webmaster@bookpassage.com with questions regarding events.
 
 

A delicious summer read filled with humor and surprise for readers of Anne Tyler and Kevin Wilson.

When introverted Ethan Fawcett marries fun-loving Barb, so comfortable in the world, he has every reason to believe he will be delivered from a lifetime of solitude. She fills his world with a sense of adventure, expanding his horizons beyond his comfortable routine. To ease Ethan's fears of becoming a father, Barb suggests they foster two young brothers, Tommy and Sam, and Ethan immediately falls in love with the boys.When the pandemic hits, he becomes obsessed with providing a perfect life for them. But instead of bringing Barb and Ethan closer together, the boys become a wedge in their relationship, as Ethan is unable to share with Barb a secret that has been haunting him since childhood. Then Ethan takes Tommy and Sam on a biking trip in Italy, and it becomes clear just how unusual Ethan and his boys are.

Katie Hafner is a journalist and author who writes frequently for the New York Times and the Washington Post. She is the author of six non-fiction books including Mother Daughter Me, a memoir; A Romance on Three Legs: Glenn Gould's Obsessive Quest for the Perfect Piano; Where Wizards Stay Up Late: The Origins of the Internet (with Matthew Lyon). She is host and co-executive producer of the popular podcast, Lost Women of Science. The Boys is her first novel. She lives in San Francisco.

Michael Krasny is the former host of the award winning KQED Forum, a program discussing news and public affairs, current events, culture, health, business and technology.

 

Katie Hafner photo courtesy of Christopher Michael; Michael Krasny photo courtesy of the author

 

Location: 

Book Passage Corte Madera
51 Tama Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
The Boys By Katie Hafner Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781954118058
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Spiegel & Grau - July 26th, 2022