Jim L'etoile - At What Cost (Corte Madera)

What would you do to save your child?

Detective John Penley and his new partner, Detective Paula Newberry, of the West Sacramento Police Department are tasked with leading the investigation into a local serial killer who has dumped three bodies in the past six weeks--and all of them are missing their internal organs. But while pursuing a lead, the detectives stumble upon a personal message the killer left behind for Penley. And it's attached to a human kidney. How could the killer know Penley's son is on the kidney transplant waiting list? Now Penley's baited into an impossible trap that could jeopardize his entire career. Will the detective take down the killer and place his faith in the medical establishment to heal his son? Or, will he make a deal with the devil for the transplant organ his son needs to live?

At What Cost, James L'Etoile's debut mystery, is a heart-stopping thrill ride that will keep readers guessing at every turn. Fans of Michael Connelly and Thomas Perry won't be able to put this down.

James L Etoile has twenty-nine years of experience in prisons and jails across the country. An experienced Associate Warden, Chief of Institution Operations, Hostage Negotiator and Director of Parole with a Master's Degree in Criminal Justice, L'Etoile draws upon his background to bring his crime fiction to life. He resides in Cameron Park, CA with his wife, Ann-Marie. This is his first novel.

 

Location: 

51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
At What Cost: A Detective Penley Mystery By James L'Etoile Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781629539966
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - December 13th, 2016