Cooks with Books: Eric Ripert - 32 Yolks

Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 6:30pm

Left Bank Restaurant in Larkspur • Single $120; Couple $190 (one book)

Online ticket sales have closed. To inquire about waitlist availability, please call (415) 927-0960 ext. 1.

For readers of Jacques Pepin's The Apprentice and Marcus Samuelsson's Yes, Chef, here is 32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line, the coming-of-age story of a true French chef and international culinary icon. Before he earned three Michelin stars at Le Bernardin, won the James Beard Foundation Award for Outstanding Chef, or became a regular guest judge on Bravo's "Top Chef," and even before he knew how to make a proper omelet, Eric Ripert was a young boy in the South of France who felt that his world had come to an end. The only place Eric felt at home was in the kitchen. His desire to not only cook, but to become the best would lead him into some of the most celebrated and demanding restaurants in Paris, serving under such legendary chefs as Joel Robuchon and Dominique Bouchet, and trying to survive the brutal, exacting environment of their kitchens.

Eric Ripert is the co-author of the recently published On the Line: Inside the world of Le Bernardin, and chef and part-owner of Le Bernardin, awarded four stars by The New York Times, three stars by the Michelin Guide, and rated best restaurant in New York by Zagat. He is a frequent guest on such national shows as Bravo's "Top Chef," "Today," "Charlie Rose," "Martha," and Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations." He has opened two new restaurants, 10 Arts in the Philadelphia Ritz-Carlton and Westend Bistro in Washington, D.C. You can watch Eric Ripert in action on his forthcoming television show "Avec Eric" and on his Web site, www.aveceric.com.

 

Location: 
Left Bank Restaurant
507 Magnolia Ave.
Larkspur, CA 94939
32 Yolks: From My Mother's Table to Working the Line Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812992984
Availability: Special Order
Published: Random House - May 17th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - Hailed by Anthony Bourdain as "heartbreaking, horrifying, poignant, and inspiring," 32 Yolks is the brave and affecting coming-of-age story about the making of a French chef, from the culinary icon behind the renowned New York City restaurant Le Bernardin.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR