Conversations with Authors - Stephanie Kent & Logan Smalley (Virtual Event)

Thursday, October 15, 2020 - 4:00pm

 

Thursday, October 15th • 4:00pm PT/7:00pm ET

Stephanie Kent & Logan Smalley


Conversations with Authors is our free virtual event series! Join us throughout the week at 4:00pm PT/7:00pm ET for a new chat with a different author.

 

A note from Steph and Logan:

Bibliophiles, thank you for spending an afternoon with us to think about books and the many (many!) reasons they matter.

After our conversation, we took a walk around the block in our beloved New York City and reflected on our luck at being able to connect with you all. We’re especially glad for the opportunity to talk about why we believe so deeply in supporting independent bookstores, and how critically important it is for us all to do so right now. We’d like to leave you with a few of our favorite books about bookstores, and ask, if you’re able, that you consider picking one up from Book Passage.

With gratitude,
—Steph and Logan

 

Stephanie Kent and Logan Smalley’s book, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book, is a revival of the yellow-pages directory you remember, but instead of contact information, it is filled with messages collected from book lovers all over the United States about the books that have changed their lives.

Stephanie Kent is a writer and multimedia producer. Her recent work includes the Webby Award–winning Masters of Scale podcast, The Wall Street Journal’s premiere mobile-first news app, and a series of book reviews for Boxing Insider. During her time on staff at TED, Steph built community programs and brand engagement strategies. She was awarded a 2017 Creative Community Fellowship with National Arts Strategies Foundation and holds a BA in playwriting and literature from Emerson College. Stephanie writes a weekly newsletter on creativity, and is a competitive boxer. You can find her online at StephKent.com.

Logan Smalley is the founding director of TED’s youth and education initiative, TED-Ed—an award-winning website, content format, and program offering that serves millions of teachers and students every day. Prior to working for TED, Logan was selected as a TED Fellow for his roles as director, editor, and composer of the nonprofit, feature-length film, Darius Goes West. Logan began his career as a special education teacher in his hometown of Athens, GA, and he currently lives and works in New York City.

 

Below, please find links to purchase their book as well as their recommended titles.

 

 

Location: 
The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781982140588
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - October 13th, 2020

For fans of My Ideal Bookshelf and Bibliophile, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is the perfect gift for book lovers everywhere: a quirky and entertaining interactive guide to reading, featuring voicemails, literary Easter eggs, checklists, and more, from the creators of the popular multimedia project.

One night in 2014, two readers named Logan Smalley and Stephani


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616204518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - December 2nd, 2014

“Marvelously optimistic about the future of books and bookstores and the people who love both.”—The Washington Post

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen.


Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250037756
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - September 24th, 2013

The New York Times Bestseller

A Winner of the Alex Award, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction, named a Best Book of the Year by NPR, Los Angeles Times, and San Francisco Chronicle


The Bookshop Cover Image
By Penelope Fitzgerald, David Nicholls (Introduction by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780544484092
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - June 9th, 2015

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING EMILY MORTIMER, BILL NIGHY, AND PATRICIA CLARKSON 

Short-listed for the Booker Prize
“A beautiful book, a perfect little gem.” —BBC Kaleidoscope
“A marvelously piercing fiction.” —
Times Literary Supplement

In 1959 Florence Green, a kindhearted widow


Bibliophile: An Illustrated Miscellany (Book for Writers, Book Lovers Miscellany with Booklist) Cover Image
By Jane Mount (Illustrator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781452167237
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - September 11th, 2018

Searching for perfect book lovers gifts? Rejoice! Bibliophile: An Illustrated Miscellany, is a love letter to all things bookish. Author Jane Mount brings literary people, places, and things to life through her signature and vibrant illustrations. It's a must-have for every book collection, and makes a wonderful literary gift for book lovers, writers, and more.