Christian Kiefer - The Animals

Saturday, April 18, 2015 - 1:00pm

Bill Reed is by all appearances a caretaker: in particular to a menagerie of misfit animals (wolf, bear, and raptors) in a wildlife sanctuary he manages in remote northern Idaho.  It’s a quiet life, carefully cultivated. But when his childhood friend—and former partner in crime—is released from prison, ready to burn Bill’s second chance to the ground in revenge, his tranquil present is suddenly threatened by the years that came before.   

In a chilling display of perseverance, Bill battles fiercely to keep the secrets of his criminal youth hidden from detection and loved ones. Told in chapters that alternate between the settled domestic present and his turbulent, even dangerous, years spent in Reno, Nevada, The Animals builds powerfully towards the revelation of Bill’s seminal betrayal and the drastic lengths he went to in order to escape it.

Christian Kiefer lives in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada with his family and teaches writing at American River College in Sacramento, California. A musician and poet, he is also the author of The Infinite Tides.

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
The Animals: A Novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780871408839
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Liveright - March 23rd, 2015

For fans of Denis Johnson and Peter Matthiessen, a literary thriller from one of the most exciting new voices in American fiction.