Brenda Peterson - Wolf Nation (San Francisco)

Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 1:00pm

Joined by Amaroq Weiss

Brenda Peterson brings the full complement of science, history, and memoir to the century-long battle to save wild wolves, the keystone species of our nation.

In the tradition of Peter Matthiessen's Wildlife in America or Aldo Leopold, Wolf Nation tells the 300-year history of wild wolves in America. It is also our own history, seen through our relationship with wolves. The earliest Americans revered them. Settlers zealously exterminated them. Now, scientists, writers, and ordinary citizens are fighting to bring them back to the wild. Peterson, an eloquent voice in the battle for twenty years, makes the powerful case that without wolves, not only will our whole ecology unravel, but we'll lose much of our national soul.

Brenda Peterson is a novelist and nature writer whose curiosity about and for the respect of nature radiates through her twenty books. For the past two decades she has studied and written about animals, especially marine animals and wolves. She has contributed environmental commentary to NPR and the Huffington Post.

Amaroq Weiss has worked in wolf conservation for more than 20 years and is the West Coast Wolf Advocate for the Center for Biological Diversity, a national nonprofit conservation organization with more than 1.3 million members and online activists dedicated to the protection of endangered species and wild places.

 

Location: 
1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111
Wolf Nation: The Life, Death, and Return of Wild American Wolves (Merloyd Lawrence Book) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780306824937
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Da Capo Press - May 2nd, 2017

In the tradition of Peter Matthiessen's Wildlife in America or Aldo Leopold, Brenda Peterson tells the 300-year history of wild wolves in America. It is also our own history, seen through our relationship with wolves. The earliest Americans revered them. Settlers zealously exterminated them. Now, scientists, writers, and ordinary citizens are fighting to bring them back to the wild.