Asian Women Are Strong - Book Signing with Joanna Ho and Abigail Hing Wen (Ferry Building Store)

In collaboration with "Asian Women Are Strong" / API Women's Community Event / 10AM-4PM

ASIAN WOMEN ARE STRONG
Book Signing with

Joanna Ho & Abigail Hing Wen

An In-Person Event • Book Passage (SF Ferry Building)

Signing Only 

 Sun., March 3, 2024 • 11:30am-1:30pm PT

 
This event will be hosted live at Book Passage's San Francisco Store. Please contact webmaster@bookpassage.com with questions regarding live events.
 

For Women’s History Month, Asians Are Strong is taking over the historic Ferry Building in San Francisco to proudly present a star-studded, one-of-a-kind community event dedicated to empowering API women of all ages.

This year’s theme is Conquering Our Challenges Together. Let’s celebrate our strength by addressing the unique challenges that Asian women face: cultural expectations, intergenerational challenges, prioritizing self-care, navigating family and career, and more. Together, our combined voices can inspire change!

We are honored to partner with Asians Are Strong for this API women's community event. Join us at our Ferry Building store for an exciting signing with two amazing bestselling authors, Joanna Ho and Abigail Hing Wen.

Signing Times are as follows:

  • Joanna Ho - 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
  • Abigail Wen - 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm

Read more Abigail & Joanna and their most recent works below. 

 


Return to the sparkling world of Loveboat, this time with Pearl Wong, on an entirely new, romantic, whirlwind adventure from Abigail Hing Wen, New York Times bestselling author of Loveboat, Taipei, streaming now on Paramount+ (adaptation titled Love in Taipei). 

Pearl was ready for a worldwide stage. Instead, she needs to stage a comeback.

Seventeen-year-old music prodigy Pearl Wong had the summer of her dreams planned—until a fall from grace leaves her in need of new plans…and a new image.

Where better to revamp her “brand” than at Chien Tan, the Taipei summer program for elite students that rocketed her older sister, Ever, on a path to romance and self-fulfillment years ago.

But as the alumni know, Chien Tan is actually Loveboat—the extravagant world where prodigies party till dawn—and there’s more awaiting Pearl there than she could have ever imagined, like a scandalous party in the dark, a romantic entanglement with a mysterious suitor...and a summer that will change her forever.

Sweeping, glamorous, and deeply soulful, this companion to the New York Times bestselling novel Loveboat, Taipei and Loveboat Reunion will reunite readers with their favorite characters, in a thrilling new journey of romance, self-discovery, and empowerment. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Abigail Hing Wen is a filmmaker, AI tech leader and the New York Times bestselling author and executive producer of Loveboat, Taipei. Loveboat, Taipei is a HarperCollins novel and Barnes and Noble YA Book Club Pick which has been adapted to the screen as Love in Taipei, forthcoming August 10 from Paramount Plus. The novel draws inspiration from the actual program attended by thousands of Chinese and Taiwanese diaspora, which Abigail attended the summer after her freshman year at Harvard. Abigail served as an executive producer for the Love in Taipei film and on set while filming in Taipei and London.

Loveboat, Taipei was Abigail’s first published novel after ten years of writing by night and working by day in a successful career as a leader in law, venture capital and artificial intelligence. "With a knack for trying and succeeding at new things," according to Forbes, Abigail has been described by Pop Culturist as “one of the voices of her generation” and by Forbes as, “One of the most respected voices in fairness and AI.”

She holds degrees from Harvard, Columbia and Vermont College of Fine Arts and lives with her husband and two children in the San Francisco Bay Area.


 

From New York Times bestselling author Joanna Ho and award-winning author-educator Liz Kleinrock, a transracial adoptee, comes a new companion to Eyes That Kiss in the Corners. A young girl who is adopted learns to love her Asian eyes and finds familial connection and meaning through them, even though they look different from her parents’.

A young girl who is a transracial adoptee learns to appreciate the differences in her family and celebrate them. Even though her adopted family may look different from her, their bond is deep and their connection is filled with love. She wonders about her birth mom and comes to appreciate both her birth culture and her adopted family's culture, for even though they may seem very different, they are both a part of her, and that is what makes her beautiful. 

"Ho now creates a beautiful book about family: what makes individuals and what connects us to one another. This book is a perfect addition to any children’s shelf, whether aimed at families, adoption, multicultural stories, or topics of love and ­acceptance." —School Library Journal (starred review)

Joanna Ho is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of many books for kids. She has received the Asian/Pacific American Award for Children’s Literature Honor, a Golden Kite Award, an Ezra Jack Keats Honor, and a Golden Poppy Award. She is a writer and educator with a passion for anti-bias, anti-racism and equity work. She holds a BA in psychology from the University of Pennsylvania, and a master’s from the Principal Leadership Institute at Berkeley. She has been an English teacher, a dean, the designer of an alternative-to-prison program, a creator of educator professional development, and a high school vice principal. She lives in the Bay Area, where she survives on homemade chocolate chip cookies, outdoor adventures, and dance parties with her kids.

 

 

 

Abigail Hing Wen photo credit - Olga Pichkova of IOPhotoStudio. Joanna Ho photo credit Joanna Ho.

 

Location: 

Book Passage Ferry Building
1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111
Loveboat Forever By Abigail Hing Wen Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063297999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title for More Details
Published: HarperTeen - November 7th, 2023

Eyes That Weave the World's Wonders By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator), Liz Kleinrock Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator), Liz Kleinrock
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063057777
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click Title for More Details
Published: HarperCollins - January 23rd, 2024