Corte Madera Events

CORTE MADERA STORE

Thursday, June 30, 2022 - 4:00pm

As a Stanford grad in the midst of getting her PhD in Psychology, Sadhvi Sarawati was comfortable with her life. Despite years of grappling with an eating disorder and trauma from her early childhood, she felt as if she was successfully navigating her way through early adulthood.  Hollywood to the Himalayas is the enlightening memoir of a reluctant spiritual seeker who finds much more than she bargained for when she travels to India.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Thursday, July 7, 2022 - 4:00pm

Funny, poignant, and redemptive, The Angel of Rome offers a dazzling range of voices, backdrops, and situations. With his signature wit and bighearted approach to the darkest parts of humanity, Jess Walter tackles the modern condition with a timeless touch.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, July 9, 2022 - 1:00pm

In Battling the Big Lie, bestselling author Dan Pfeiffer dissects how the right-wing built a massive, billionaire-funded disinformation machine powerful enough to bend reality and nearly steal the 2020 election. Pfeiffer lays out how the right-wing media apparatus works, where it came from, and what progressives can do to fight back against disinformation.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, July 9, 2022 - 2:00pm

The Center’s Edge Revisited by Todd Crawshaw is a twilight-zone saga about the universe as a spiral, depicting repetitive behavior historically – acts of kindness, abuses of power – the light and dark of humanity evolving toward a meaning of life beyond death.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, July 9, 2022 - 4:00pm

Set in a small, sun-drenched Northern California town shifting from hippie haven to moneyed paradise, Michael Bourne's Blithedale Canyon asks whether a man who has spent his whole life screwing up can stop long enough to avoid destroying a woman he loves.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 4:00pm

In What Jonah Knew by Barbara Graham, Helen and Lucie set out to make sense of the insensible, a heart-stopping quest that forces them to redefine not just what it is to be a mother or a human being, but the very nature of life — and death — because of what Jonah knows.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 11:00am

From KJ Dell'Antonia, the New York Times bestselling author of The Chicken Sisters comes In Her Boots, a delightfully entertaining story about a ruse that goes awry and a chaotic homecoming that proves that confronting your past can sometimes set you free.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 1:00pm

Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and Hannah Mary McKinnon, dubut author Mindy Carlson's Her Dying Day tells of a mystery writer’s sudden disappearance leads a budding filmmaker down a dark road to treachery, murder, and long-buried sins.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 4:00pm

Decades of electoral work and activism have failed to bring us sustainability, peace, or a just society. Michael Goldstein's Blessed Disillusionment shows that there is a reason: the political system operates to absorb discontent while averting the fundamental change we urgently need.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, July 17, 2022 - 1:00pm

One Person, One Vote explores the rise of the most partisan gerry­manders in American history, put in place by the Republican Party after the 2010 census. Nick Seabrook makes clear that a vast new redistricting is already here, and that to safeguard our republic, action is needed before it is too late.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, July 17, 2022 - 4:00pm

Grandmothers Feed Us Love is a part of the 80-Year Celebration of Marin City, which includes events, exhibits, and initiatives to lift up, preserve, and share with the world the history of this small Black community in Northern California. This book is dedicated to the grandmothers of Marin City, California.

TICKETED EVENT

Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 1:00pm

In This Is Your Mind on Plants, Michael Pollan dives deep into three plant drugs — opium, caffeine, and mescaline — and throws the fundamental strangeness, and arbitrariness, of our thinking about them into sharp relief.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, July 31, 2022 - 1:00pm

A special event featuring a Bay Area comedian/actor favorite, Brian Copeland, reading from his upcoming play.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Tuesday, August 2, 2022 - 1:00pm

In Where the Sky Begins, a woman's future is determined by fate and choice in a gripping WWII novel about danger, triumph, and second chances by Rhys Bowen, the New York Times bestselling author of The Venice Sketchbook and The Tuscan Child.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Thursday, August 4, 2022 - 5:00pm

Professional surfer Maya Gabeira, known for surfing Guinness World Record–breaking big waves, shares her story of resilience, defying expectations of women in sports, and daring to achieve the impossible. Beautifully illustrated by Ramona Kaulitzki, Maya and the Beast is an empowering reminder that every fear can be conquered and every Beast can be tamed.

TICKETED EVENT

Sunday, August 7, 2022 - 4:00pm

Written with intelligence, wit, and an exhilarating sense of possibility, Anthony Marra's Mercury Pictures Presents spans many moods and tones, from the heartbreaking to the ecstatic. It is a love letter to life’s bit players, a panorama of an era that casts a long shadow over our own, and a tour de force by a novelist whose work The Washington Post calls “a flash in the heavens that makes you look up and believe in miracles.”

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, August 13, 2022 - 1:00pm

Join us for the Marin County book launch of Plagios/Plagiarisms, Volumes One and Two, by Mexican poet Ulalume González de León; and Beyond the Time of Words/Más allá del tiempo de las palabras, by Chilean poet Marjorie Agosín.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, August 13, 2022 - 4:00pm

Jack Gedney's studies of birds provide resonant, affirming answers to the questions: Who is this bird? In what way is it beautiful? Why does it matter? The  Private Lives of Public Birds masterfully links an abundance of poetic references with up-to-date biological science, Gedney shares his devotion to everyday Western birds in fifteen essays

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, August 14, 2022 - 4:00pm

Paola Gianturco and her 12-year-old granddaughter and co-author, Avery Sangster, interviewed and photographed heads of grassroots organizations, activists, politicians, corporate executives, scholars, and presidents of nonprofits from all over the world. Cool: Women Leaders Reversing Global Warming tells their important, inspiring stories in their own words and suggests action steps so you can join them on this existential journey.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, August 27, 2022 - 1:00pm

In When Giants Ruled the Sky, John Geoghegan tells the true but little-known story of the USS Macon (ZRS-5), the world’s largest, most expensive and most technologically advanced airship of her day, and the four men responsible for conceiving, designing, building, and flying her.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, August 28, 2022 - 1:00pm

Meticulously researched and written by Clark's great-niece, Katharine GregorioThe Double Life of Katharine Clark illuminates a largely untold chapter of the twentieth century. It shows how a strong-willed, fiercely independent woman with an ardent commitment to truth, justice and freedom put her life on the line to share ideas with the world, ultimately transforming both herself—and history—in the process.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Sunday, September 18, 2022 - 4:00pm

On The Rooftop by author Margaret Wilkerson Sexton is a stunning novel about a mother whose dream of musical stardom for her three daughters collides with the daughters’ ambitions for their own lives — set against the backdrop of gentrifying 1950s San Francisco.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, September 24, 2022 - 1:00pm

Bobbie Scopa spent close to five decades working through nearly every challenge a firefighter can face. Both Sides of the Fire Line is Bobbie Scopa’s uplifting memoir of bravely facing the heat of fierce challenges, professionally and personally.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, September 24, 2022 - 4:00pm

Enlivened by Cassie Holmes’ upbeat narrative and groundbreaking research, Happier Hour teaches you how small changes can have an enormous impact, helping you feel less overwhelmed, more present, and more satisfied with your life overall. It all starts by transforming just one hour into a happier hour.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, October 22, 2022 - 4:00pm

Showing Up by Ray Arata is a "how-to" book for men in organizations seeking to be better allies and leaders. The book also gives guidance to HR, Diversity & Inclusion Professionals on how to engage their men in diversity efforts. Unlike other ally work which is often heady and data-driven, Arata provides a road map for supporting men to be authentic, vulnerable, and accountable.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Thursday, October 27, 2022 - 4:00pm

Useful for writers at any stage of development, Late Work offers a seasoned artist's thinking through the exploration of issues, paradoxes, and crises of faith.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, October 29, 2022 - 4:00pm

The story of how Daniel Webster popularized the ideals of American nationalism that helped forge our nation’s identity and inspire Abraham Lincoln to preserve the Union. As he did in Without Precedent and Unlikely Allies, author Joel Richard Paul has written in Indivisible both a compelling history and a fascinating account of one of the founders of our national perspective.

CORTE MADERA STORE

Saturday, November 12, 2022 - 4:00pm

In Roman Roulette, David Downie's second Daria Vinci investigation, the glamorous and high-principled police commissioner of Italy’s FBI must investigate what at first seems a simple case of suicide. In doing so, she attracts the attention of her boss, the Questor of the Province of Rome, who has his own reasons for wanting her off the case. Now, she must solve the murder in 36 hours, while risking her career and, possibly, her life.