Knight's Cross and Oak-Leaves Recipients 1939-40 (Paperback)

Knight's Cross and Oak-Leaves Recipients 1939-40 Cover Image
By Gordon Williamson, Ramiro Bujeiro (Illustrator)
Special Order


Osprey's survey of the recipients of the Knight's Cross and Oak-Leaves awards during World War II (1939-1945). In 1939 a new grade in the Iron Cross series was introduced, the Knight's Cross of the Iron Cross (Ritterkreuz des Eisernen Kreuzes). It was awarded for a variety of reasons, from skilled leadership to a single act of extreme gallantry, and was bestowed across all ranks, grades, and branches of service. As the war progresed, further distinctions were created for bestowal on existing winners, namely Oak-Leaves (Eichenlaub); Oak-Leaves with Swords (Eichenlaub und Schwertern); and Oak-Leaves with Swords and Diamonds (Eichenlaub, Schwerter und Brillanten). This book, the first in a sequence of four, covers winners of the Knights Cross and the Oak-Leaves distinction in the period 1939-40.

About the Author

Gordon Williamson was born in 1951 and currently works for the Scottish Land Register. He spent seven years with the Military Police TA and has published a number of books and articles on the decorations of the Third Reich and their winners. He is the author of a large number of World War II titles for Osprey, with a particular interest in the Kriegsmarine and the U-boat flotillas.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781841766416
Publisher: Osprey Publishing
Publication Date: July 25th, 2004
Pages: 64