Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses (Compact Disc)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses Cover Image
By Jackie Higgins, Joan Walker (Read by)
$39.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Perfect for fans of The Soul of an Octopus and The Genius of Birds, this remarkable book explores how we process the world around us by analyzing the incredible sensory capabilities of thirteen animals and reveals that we are not limited to merely five senses. There is a scientific revolution stirring in the field of human perception. Research has shown that the extraordinary sensory powers of our animal friends can help us better understand the same powers that lie dormant within us. From the harlequin mantis shrimp with its ability to see a vast range of colors, to the bloodhound and its hundreds of millions of scent receptors; from the orb-weaving spider whose eyes recognize not only space but time, to the cheetah whose ears are responsible for its perfect agility, these astonishing animals hold the key to better understanding how we make sense of the world around us. Eye-opening and captivating, Sentient will change the way you think about what it is to be human.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797138749
ISBN-10: 179713874X
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2022
Language: English