Deer Man: Seven Years of Living in the Wild (Hardcover)

Deer Man: Seven Years of Living in the Wild By Geoffroy Delorme, Shaun Whiteside (Translator) Cover Image
$26.95
On Our Shelves Now
Book Passage, Corte Madera Store
On hand as of Dec 5 9:04am
(NATURE & ENVIRONMENT)

October 2022 Indie Next List


“This is a book to nourish your younger self that desperately wished to flee the human race for the wild. Delorme’s quiet insights into forest lore and intimacy with forest creatures weave an undeniable spell. Excellent for fans of Fox & I.”
— Amanda Qassar, Warwick's, La Jolla, CA

Description


For readers of Fox & I comes "a fable very much for our time."--The TIMES

"Unusual and fascinating... Read this book and enter into another world.-- Jane GoodallIn this sensuous and moving memoir, a young man forms a powerful connection with deer while living alone in the woods for seven years.Geoffroy Delorme does not fit in the human world. As a boy, he dreams of transforming into a fox so he can escape into the forest. As he gets older, he disappears into the woods at night, drawn to the rhythms of animal life. One night, an encounter with a deer changes his life: from then on, he knows he wants to live among them. Delorme becomes a creature of the forest. He learns to live without a tent or sleeping bag and forage for whatever food he can find. He blends in with the deer and, slowly, they accept him into their world. He witnesses their births and deaths, courtship and battles, ostracism and friendship over the cycles of their lives. Among the deer, he experiences the beauty, pain, fear, and joy of a life lived as a part of nature, not separate from it.In his final year in the forest, Delorme meets a woman walking through the trees. He knows he can stay in the forest and die with his friends--or he can leave, and speak their truth to a human world that desperately needs to hear it. Deer Man is a moving story of what it's like to be an outsider and how forming connections with the natural world can help us feel less alone. A unique and powerful window into how far one human is willing to go to understand an animal, Deer Man asks us to never take for granted the flora and fauna of our world, and to work for their protection in whatever ways we can.

About the Author


Geoffroy Delorme is a nature photographer, writer, and deer expert. At the age of sixteen, he began visiting the roe deer near his home in northern France. Struggling under the weight of the human world's expectations, he left civilization behind at nineteen to live among them for seven years. When the deer's habitat was destroyed due to clear cutting, he left the forest. Now, he shares the insights he gained from them with the world.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781771649797
ISBN-10: 1771649798
Publisher: Greystone Books
Publication Date: September 27th, 2022
Pages: 224
Language: English