At What Cost: A Detective Penley Mystery (Hardcover)

At What Cost: A Detective Penley Mystery Cover Image
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Detective Penley Mystery series.

Description


What would you do to save your child?

Detective John Penley and his new partner, Detective Paula Newberry, of the Sacramento Police Department are tasked with leading the investigation into a local serial killer who has dumped three bodies in the past six weeks—and all of them are missing their internal organs. But while pursuing a lead, the detectives stumble upon a personal message the killer left behind for Penley. And it's attached to a human kidney.

How could the killer know Penley's son is on the kidney transplant waiting list? Now Penley's baited into an impossible trap that could jeopardize his entire career. Will the detective take down the killer and place his faith in the medical establishment to heal his son? Or, will he make a deal with the devil for the transplant organ his son needs to live?

At What Cost, James L'Etoile's engrossing new mystery, is a heart-stopping thrill ride that will keep readers guessing at every turn. Fans of Michael Connelly and Thomas Perry won't be able to put this down.

About the Author


James L’Etoile has twenty-nine years of experience in prisons and jails across the country. An experienced Associate Warden, Chief of Institution Operations, Hostage Negotiator and Director of Parole with a Master’s Degree in Criminal Justice, L’Etoile draws upon his background to bring his crime fiction to life. He resides in Cameron Park, CA with his wife, Ann-Marie. This is his second Detective Penley mystery.

Praise For…


"L’Etoile, who has served as an associate prison warden, keeps the suspense high throughout."
Publishers Weekly

"Best suited to nail-biters in search of something to read in a single, breathless sitting."
Kirkus Reviews

“[A] nail-biting dark thriller...Fans of tough, well-written procedurals in the tradition of Michael Connelly will want to read this series debut.”
Library Journal

“This is a great debut novel that brings the author’s years of experience with the justice system into a wonderful mystery full of twists and turns...sit back and enjoy the ride.”
Night Owl Reviews, Top Pick

"The first in this gripping series, At What Cost finds its power in the moral questions and gray areas that it raises, even as it delivers unrelenting suspense and action...At What Cost is a strong debut mystery from a writer confident in his craft."
Foreword Reviews

"At What Cost is a fast-paced thriller with an imaginative plot, lots of heart and a believable hero that kept me reading to the exciting ending."
—Phillip Margolin, New York Times bestselling author of Violent Crimes

"A superb, hair-raising crime novel. Powerful storytelling, James L’Etoile has done a masterful job."
—Rick Mofina, internationally bestselling author of Free Fall

"James L’Etoile demonstrates his descriptive prowess in this beautifully dark crime thriller replete with crackling dialogue and deeply drawn characters. At What Cost is a raw and powerful novel that will have you reading into the wee hours of the morning and leave you craving more."
—Douglas Corleone, critically-acclaimed author of Robert Ludlum’s The Janson Equation

"Intense, intriguing, intricate, and shot-through with authentic detail, At What Cost is an outstanding thriller!"
—Andrew Grant, critically-acclaimed author of False Positive and the Cooper Devereaux series
Product Details
ISBN: 9781629539959
ISBN-10: 1629539953
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: December 13th, 2016
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Detective Penley Mystery