Common Phrases: And Where They Come From, Second Edition (Paperback)

Common Phrases: And Where They Come From, Second Edition Cover Image
$14.95
On Our Shelves Now
Book Passage, Ferry Building Store
On hand as of May 17 9:06pm
(REFERENCE)

Description


In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves and Anguished English, Common Phrases is a fascinating guide to the origins of our language. Wonderful stories reveal the real meaning of Adam's apple, nick of time, stool pigeon, armed to the teeth, raining cats and dogs, at sixes and sevens, dog days of summer, and scores of others. With nearly 35,000 copies sold, this classic begins a new life with a fresh package and a new audience for entertaining reference books.

About the Author


Myron Korach was born in 1901 and received a law degree from Case Western Reserve University Law School in 1929. While he attended law school, Korach taught immigrants to read and write, his first experience with their difficulties with idioms. John Mordock, a psychologist by training, has published six books and numerous articles in professional journals. An avid fly fisherman, he has also published articles in outdoor magazines.

Praise For…


"Wordsmiths everywhere will be delighted."Publishers Weekly  "Entertaining and enlightening."Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781599213071
ISBN-10: 1599213079
Publisher: Lyons Press
Publication Date: July 17th, 2008
Pages: 200
Language: English