Early Warning (Last Hundred Years Trilogy #2) (Large Print / Paperback)

Early Warning (Last Hundred Years Trilogy #2) By Jane Smiley Cover Image
for information about purchasing this book, please contact orders@bookpassage.com

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Last Hundred Years Trilogy series.


One of the Best Books of the Year: San Francisco Chronicle

It's 1953, and the Langdons are at a crossroads. Walter, their stalwart patriarch, has died unexpectedly, and his wife must try to keep their farm going. But of their five children, only one will remain to work the land. The others scatter to Washington, DC, California, and everywhere in between.

As the country moves into the Cold War, through the social revolutions of the '60s and '70s, and into the unprecedented wealth--for some--of the early '80s, the Langdon children have children of their own: twin boys who are best friends and vicious rivals; a girl whose rebellious spirit takes her to the notorious Peoples Temple in San Francisco; and a golden boy who drops out of college to fight in Vietnam--leaving behind a secret legacy. Capturing a transformative period through characters we come to know and love, this second volume in Jane Smiley's epic trilogy brings to life the challenges--and rewards--of family and home, even in the most.

About the Author

JANE SMILEY is the author of numerous novels, including "A Thousand Acres, " which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize, and most recently, "Some Luck, " the first volume of The Last Hundred Years trilogy, long-listed for the National Book Award. She is also the author of five works of nonfiction and a series of books for young adults. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, she has also received the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award for Literature. She lives in Northern California. "From the Hardcover edition."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781594139093
ISBN-10: 1594139091
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Large Print Press
Publication Date: January 20th, 2016
Pages: 812
Language: English
Series: Last Hundred Years Trilogy