Between Heaven and Hell: The Story of My Stroke (Hardcover)

Between Heaven and Hell: The Story of My Stroke Cover Image
$22.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Acclaimed writer, bestselling author, and founder of Salon magazine, David Talbot has brought us masterful and explosive headline-breaking stories for over 25 years with books like the New York Times bestsellers Brothers, The Devil's Chessboard, and nationally recognized Season of the Witch. Now for the first time, journalist and historian David Talbot turns inward in this intimate journey through the life-changing year following his stroke, a year that turned his life upside down, and ultimately, saved him.

• A portrait of how a health crisis can truly shift one's perspective on life and purpose
• Includes insider stories on the wild early days of Internet journalism, tech culture, and Hollywood
• Powerful storytelling of the physical, emotional, and psychological impact a stroke has had on the author's identity

Fans of My Stroke of Insight, The Devil's Chessboard and Season of the Witch will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Fans of David Talbot
• Anyone dealing with or recovering from health issues (particularly stroke or brain injury) and looking for insight and inspiration
• Gen Xers and baby boomers who understand their risk for stroke
• Entrepreneurs scared of burnout

About the Author


David Talbot is the esteemed author of four popular history books, and the founder and original editor in chief of one of the first entirely digital publications, Salon magazine. A former senior editor of Mother Jones magazine, Talbot is a journalist and columnist who has written for the New Yorker, Time, Rolling Stone, The Guardian, the San Francisco Chronicle and other publications. His book Season of the Witch was a San Francisco Chronicle bestseller for four years and was the 2015 San Francisco One City One Book pick.

Praise For…


"A lighthearted look at myriad effects that a serious medical trauma can have on a person's life.. Given the fatal and often mentally debilitating nature of strokes, it makes sense that such memoirs are so few; Talbot's accomplishment is rare and that much more impressive." -San Francisco Examiner



"Between Heaven and Hell should be an indispensable help for all those who survive strokes and those who care for survivors in the aftermath." -Writers & Readers



"A deeply affecting examination of mortality, ambition and the priorities of a man who dodged death to live better days." —Dave Eggers, bestselling author of The Circle, Zeitoun, and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius

"A gripping narrative. Between Heaven and Hell is a very honest and personal tale of Talbot's struggles and healing-both physical and emotional-in the year following his stroke." -Alta magazine



"What makes this book so special is the complete absence of resentment and self-pity. This is a story beyond catharsis—it's a rebirth, a celebration, a hallucinatory and joyous examination of the aftermath of illness with love and gratitude infused on every page." —Susannah Cahalan, author of Brain on Fire and The Great Pretender

"Touching, informative, sometimes funny, sometimes harrowing, I couldn't put it down." —Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author

"Talbot demonstrates the conviction of someone who has been there and back and now knows what is really at stake.. Inspiration for others facing similar challenges." —Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781452183336
ISBN-10: 1452183333
Publisher: Chronicle Prism
Publication Date: January 14th, 2020
Pages: 176