Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories (Compact Disc)

Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories By Tobias Wolff, Anthony Heald (Read by) Cover Image
By Tobias Wolff, Anthony Heald (Read by)
for information about purchasing this book, please contact orders@bookpassage.com


Tobias Wolff's first two books, In the Garden of the North American Martyrs and Back in the World, proved how the short story can "provoke our amazed appreciation" (New York Times Book Review). In the years since, he's written a third collection, The Night in Question, as well as several other astounding works. Now he returns with fresh revelations--about biding one's time, experiencing first love, or burying one's mother--that come to a variety of characters in circumstances at once everyday and extraordinary: a retired marine enrolled in college while her son trains for Iraq, a lawyer taking a difficult deposition, an American in Rome indulging the Gypsy who's picked his pocket. In this potent new collection, as with his earlier work, Wolff displays his mastery over a quarter century, once again proving himself "a writer of the highest order: part storyteller, part philosopher, someone deeply engaged in asking hard questions that take a lifetime to resolve" (Los Angeles Times).
Product Details
ISBN: 9781433203985
ISBN-10: 1433203987
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Publication Date: April 1st, 2008
Language: English