The Rose Garden (Paperback)

The Rose Garden By Susanna Kearsley Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"I've loved every one of Susanna's books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly's delicate touch with characters—sure recipe for historical fiction that sucks you in and won't let go!"—DIANA GABALDON, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander

A riveting and romantic journey through time, The Rose Garden drops a modern woman into the middle of a historical fiction novel when she's thrown back to 18th century Cornwall—only to find that might just be where she belongs.

After the death of her sister, Eva Ward leaves Hollywood and all its celebrities behind to return to the only place she feels she truly belongs, the old house on the coast of Cornwall, England. She's seeking comfort in memories of childhood summers, but what she finds is mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time.

Soon Eva discovers that the man, Daniel Butler, is very, very real and he draws her into a world of intrigue, treason, and love. Inside the old British house, begins to question her place in the present, she realizes she must decide where she really belongs: in the life she knows or the past she feels so drawn towards.

A brilliant escape that gives one woman the chance to time-travel and find her place in British history, The Rose Garden presents Susanna Kearsley's signature combination of romance and fascinating historical fiction at its very best.

Also by Susanna Kearsley:

The Winter Sea

The Firebird

A Desperate Fortune

Named of the Dragon

The Shadowy Horses

The Splendour Falls

Season of Storms

Mariana

Bellewether

About the Author


New York Times, USA Today, and Globe and Mail bestselling author Susanna Kearsley is a former museum curator who loves restoring the lost voices of real people to the page, often in twin-stranded stories that interweave present and past. Her award-winning novels have been published in translation in more than 25 countries. She lives near Toronto.

Praise For…


"Susanna Kearsley's The Rose Garden is an enthralling and achingly romantic read. Top Pick in Romance." — BookPage

"Like Anya Seton's Green Darkness and Daphne du Maurier's House on the Strand, Kearsley brilliantly brings together past and present. 4 1/2 Stars, Top Pick of the Month" — RT Book Reviews

"Susanna Kearsley's latest is an imaginatively captivating trip through time. I found complete hours swallowed whole as I devoured THE ROSE GARDEN." — Fresh Fiction

"Canadian author Susanna Kearsley's time-travel books have always enthralled me, and The Rose Garden is no exception." — Historical Novels Review

" I highly, highly recommend The Rose Garden (and Kearsley in general, but this is an excellent place to start) to anyone who enjoys a good story with a vivid setting and memorable characters. And if you're in need of a well-written comfort read, run to your library or bookstore to get your hands on a copy!" — A Striped Arm Chair

"I'm sure I'll be reading more books by Susanna Kearsley soon – I just need to decide which one to try next!" — She Reads Novels

"This will be going on my top 10 books for sure and I'm keeping my copy to read again!!" — Life in the Thumb

"Overall, The Rose Garden was a wonderfully imaginative tale with true love, time travel, and a fascinating setting." — Laura's Reviews

"It's very romantic in a kind of restrained way and unending sense of longing. Beautifully written, The Rose Garden is recommended for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife, Rebecca, and historical fiction." — The Book Harbinger

"If you're in the mood for a story with a strong sense of place, a cast of wonderful characters, a plot with surprises, time travel and romance, I have just one piece of advice: Seek out The Rose Garden, and when you're done reading it, seek out the rest of Susanna Kearsley's novels." — Kittling: Books

"Kearsley fans will love this to bits" — At Home with A Good Book and the Cat

"It seems I've gotten into the habit of saying this for this author's work; The Rose Garden, by Susanna Kearsley is a must read. And as they say, there's no time like the present...." — Bookishly Attentive

"Overall a magical and heart-moving romance which should appeal to everyone loving romances." — Endlessly Bookish

"if you want a well-written, rich romance with a strong, mature heroine, The Rose Garden is strongly recommended." — The Romance Reader

"There's excitement, adventure, tragedy & romance in The Rose Garden, it's a compelling read." — I Prefer Reading

"So I invite you to come along to a special rose garden on the coast of Cornwall where you never know what might happen. At the least you will have a delightful reading experience lost in the magical world Susanna Kearsley creates." — The Broken Teepee

"I give it five stars!!!" — Celtic Lady's Reviews

"If you are a fan of Susanna Kearsley's novels, then you already know what to expect in The Rose Garden... lyrical writing... vivid images of nature and the landscape...historical settings... characters that you come to know and really care about...time travel that changes seamlessly from one frame to the next...and a breathtaking and poignant ending. The Rose Garden is no exception." — Books, Belles & Beaux

"Susanna Kearsely is one of my favorite historical fiction writers. She always manages to write books that draw me in from the very first place. This one is no different and it just might be my favorite." — Books Like Breathing

"This is the kind of book you want with you when you curl up in front of a fire with a soft blanket draped over your knees and a mug of hot tea at your side. Or, okay, in my case, a glass of red wine.

This is one of those books where you find yourself absorbing every word rather than merely reading them.

This is the kind of book you never want to end and you'll never forget." — A Writer's Ramblings

"This one is going on my favorite's list. I enjoyed every scene, conversation, and pictorial description." — Step into My World

"The Rose Garden is part historical, part romance, part historical, and sheer brilliance." — Royal Reviews

"Susanna Kearsley's unique time-travel romances have gained her renown as an author capable of whisking away readers to another time, in another place, in a world real to our imaginations. With the style of a modern day Daphne Du Maurier, Susanna Kearsley writes with a graceful poise blended with just the right amount of mystery and romantic elements. Following in the footsteps of 2010's The Winter Sea, The Rose Garden brings a mystical Cornish tale to life in an unforgettably elegant way." — Suite 101

"This book will keep your attention from the first line to the last. My only complaint, I couldn't put it down, making for a very tired employee at work the following day. Read it. You will fall in love, too." — Write Brained Readers

"I really enjoyed THE ROSE GARDEN BY SUSANNA KEARSLEY. It's the first book I've read by the author and I will definitely see what she has to offer in the future." — Book Drunkard
Product Details
ISBN: 9781402258589
ISBN-10: 1402258585
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: October 4th, 2011
Pages: 448
Language: English