Allergic: A Graphic Novel (Hardcover)

Allergic: A Graphic Novel By Megan Wagner Lloyd, Michelle Mee Nutter (Illustrator) Cover Image
$24.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel featuring a girl with severe allergies who just wants to find the perfect pet!

At home, Maggie is the odd one out. Her parents are preoccupied with getting ready for a new baby, and her younger brothers are twins and always in their own world. Maggie loves animals and thinks a new puppy to call her own is the answer, but when she goes to select one on her birthday, she breaks out in hives and rashes. She's severely allergic to anything with fur!

Can Maggie outsmart her allergies and find the perfect pet? With illustrations by Michelle Mee Nutter, Megan Wagner Lloyd uses inspiration from her own experiences with allergies to tell a heartfelt story of family, friendship, and finding a place to belong.

About the Author


MEGAN WAGNER LLOYD is the co-creator, with Michelle Mee Nutter, of Allergic, an instant bestseller. Megan is also the author of several picture books, including Paper Mice, Building Books, Finding Wild, and Fort-Building Time, and of Haven, a novel. She lives in the Washington, DC area.
MICHELLE MEE NUTTER is the co-creator, with Megan Wagner Lloyd, of Allergic, an instant bestseller. Michelle graduated with a degree in illustration from the Massachusetts College of Art and Design. Her work has been recognized by the Society of Illustrators, 3x3 Illustration, Creative Quarterly, and more. Michelle lives in Boston.

Praise For…


Praise for Allergic:

Instant National Indie Bestseller

School Library Journal Best Graphic Novel of the Year

American Library Association Best Graphic Novel for Children

New York Public Library Best Book for Kids

"There's a lot packed into this graphic novel beyond the allergy story line: how family dynamics change with a new baby's arrival, how kids struggle to fit in and find friends. But while it addresses serious issues and emotions, Allergic, unlike hives and sneezing, is mostly madcap fun." -- The New York Times

"Allergic is the sweetest story you'll read all year. A touching chronicle of a young girl's severe allergies woven into a meaningful journey of friendship, family, and self-discovery." -- Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

★ "A heartachingly enjoyable tale of resilience." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Readers will root for this realistic and relatable fifth grader, who's capable of kindness as well as envy and self-doubt... readers will easily identify with her trials and accomplishments." -- School Library Journal

"Vibrant... easy to recommend." -- Booklist

"Warm and well-paced... an encouraging tale for young readers engaging with the world of pets, family, and friendships." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for the Allergic Audiobook:

American Library Association Notable Children's Recording

★ "A first-rate full-cast audio treatment…Thanks to expertly mixed recording effects and a bouncy music score, the production sounds like a radio drama: overlapping voices, yipping dogs, and multitude of noises." -- Booklist, starred review

Praise for Squished:

Instant National Indie Bestseller

Barnes & Noble Most Anticipated Kids' Book

★ "A charming and achingly relatable snapshot of life in a big family." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Nutter's warm and appealing artwork comically captures the crowded chaos of the Lee household and the matter-of-fact diversity of the town, and the sun-dappled visuals will appeal to anyone who loves the work of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale... This stirring and dynamic graphic novel is sure to win a lot of hearts." -- Booklist, starred review

"Avery’s plights are amusing and approachable, with art from Nutter that is gentle and light-filled. This engaging graphic novel tackles very real feelings and will keep readers invested in Avery’s life. Highly recommended." -- School Library Journal, starred review

"Brightly colored landscapes and keen dialogue artfully depict common eldest daughter woes." -- Publishers Weekly

"A warm, heartfelt, relatable comic that shines a light on a "squished" sibling as Avery tries to become more independent and weather life’s changes while still finding her own place at home." -- The Horn Book

"There is so much to love about this title... The storytelling is fast-paced and has many humorous moments... The artwork is busy and offers the frenetic feel of the hustle and bustle of a large family. The colorization looks vivid and warm, which wraps up the warm tingly feelings all readers will be left with. Another great addition to the middle-grade comics collection." -- School Library Journal's Good Comics for Kids Blog

"This delightful graphic novel about growing up and carving out your own space is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier." -- Barnes & Noble

"An exciting graphic novel by Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter. Most kids will relate to Avery and enjoy this heartwarming story.” -- Kellen Bhatt, kid reporter for TIME for Kids



Praise for Allergic:

"Allergic is the sweetest story you'll read all year. A touching chronicle of a young girl's severe allergies woven into a meaningful journey of friendship, family, and self-discovery." -- Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

"Readers will root for this realistic and relatable fifth grader, who's capable of kindness as well as envy and self-doubt... readers will easily identify with her trials and accomplishments." -- School Library Journal

"Vibrant... easy to recommend." -- Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338568912
ISBN-10: 1338568914
Publisher: Graphix
Publication Date: March 2nd, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English