One Duke Down: A Rogues to Lovers Novel (Mass Market)

One Duke Down: A Rogues to Lovers Novel By Anna Bennett Cover Image

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Rogues To Lovers series.


The next delightful novel in Anna Bennett's Rogues to Lovers series!

"Tantalizing...readers will be swept away." - Publishers Weekly

Miss Poppy Summers is determined to keep her family’s fishing business afloat. Her poor widowed father has fallen ill, and her foolhardy brother has moved to London, leaving her precious little time to read or pursue her own dreams. But she’ll do anything for her family, so she cheerfully spends mornings in her rowboat, casting her nets. The very last thing Poppy expects or wants to find tangled in them is a dangerously attractive man. Especially one with a head wound—who’s convinced he’s a duke.

Andrew Keane is the Duke of Hawking, but he’s having the devil of a time convincing his fiery-haired rescuer of that fact. The truth is he came to the seaside resort of Bellehaven Bay to escape his life in London. Unfortunately, someone in Bellehaven wants to kill him—and he intends to find out who. He implores Poppy to tend to his injuries and hide him on her beach, reasoning it will be easier to find his attacker if that man assumes Keane is already dead. She wants no part of the scheme but can’t refuse the generous sum he offers in exchange for food and shelter while he recovers. It’s a mutually beneficial business arrangement…nothing more.

Under Poppy’s care, Keane regains his strength—and a sense of purpose. As they work together to solve the puzzle of his would-be murderer, he’s dazzled by her rapier wit and adventurous spirit; she’s intrigued by his mysterious air and protective streak. Though Poppy’s past gives her every reason to mistrust someone like Keane, the seawalls around her heart crumble in the storm of their passion. But when clues hint at the prime suspect in Keane’s attempted murder, Poppy must decide where her loyalties lie. Torn between the world she’s always known and the one she’s always dreamed of, she’ll need true love for a shot at her fairytale ending.

About the Author

Anna Bennett (she/her) is the award-winning author of the Debutante Diaries and Wayward Wallflowers series. Her dream of writing romance began during a semester in London, where she fell in love with the city, its history, and its pubs. Now Anna's living happily-ever-after in Maryland with her family, who try valiantly not to roll their eyes whenever she quotes Jane Austen.

Praise For…

Praise for Anna Bennett’s Debutante Diaries series:

When You Wish Upon a Rogue

“Expertly tugs at the heartstrings.” —Publishers Weekly

“Readers who love a grumpy-to-smitten hero will swoon.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A dashing Regency romance featuring a wounded earl and an unyielding heroine with strong convictions.” —Library Journal

The Duke Is But a Dream

“The pace of their story is steady and the flow is smooth, with plenty of chemistry and passion . . . A deeply satisfying tale of love persevering despite social constraints.”
Publishers Weekly

“In this story of finding yourself, it’s the family the central characters create together that’s the most satisfying discovery of all.” —BookPage

“Again she creates relatable heroines similar in force and tone to those created by her sister historical romance authors Tessa Dare and Sophie Jordan.” —Booklist

“A wonderful read, one that is hard to put down.”
Affaire de Coeur

“Anna Bennett is a fantastic storyteller . . . A delight of a read with characters you will love and subplots that add
to the fascinating tale of old memories, new beginnings, and a happily-ever-after that made me smile.”
Fresh Fiction

“A finely crafted historical romance novel and a wonder- fully entertaining read from cover to cover.”
Midwest Book Review

First Earl I See Tonight

“A kind, funny heroine is the perfect match for a stoic, brooding hero in Bennett’s delightful first Debutante Diaries Regency romance. Sexy, clever . . . will bring smiles to its readers.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“We love a heroine who doesn’t wait to be rescued, so thank you, Anna Bennett! . . . A crumbling estate, mysterious letters, and a villain hiding among friends add a dash of intrigue to this tantalizing Regency adventure.” —Apple Books Review (Apple Books Best of the Month)

Praise for the Wayward Wallflowers series:

The Rogue Is Back in Town

“Fans of Regency romance authors Eloisa James, Tessa Dare, and Mary Jo Putney will go wild for the final installment of Bennett’s Wayward Wallflowers trilogy.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Bennett’s gift for writing a page-turner of a plot is on full display . . . a solid Regency story of true love.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Entertaining . . . [offers] plenty to satisfy Regency fans.”
Publishers Weekly

I Dared the Duke

“Sharply drawn characters, clever dialogue, simmering sensuality, and a dash of mystery make this well-crafted Regency thoroughly delightful.” —Library Journal

“Readers will enjoy this sassy Regency take on the classic Beauty and the Beast tale.” —Booklist

“A captivating page-turner that will become a new favorite among romance enthusiasts!” —BookPage

“Bennett brings new life to traditional Regency stories and characters.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Scrumptious . . . I devoured every word! A hot and wounded hero, a heroine you wish could be your friend in real life, and witty scenes that sparkle with life . . . The Wayward Wallflowers just keep getting better!”
—Laura Lee Guhrke, New York Times bestselling author

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250793935
ISBN-10: 1250793939
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: January 24th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Rogues To Lovers