The Winterhouse Mysteries (Paperback)

The Winterhouse Mysteries Cover Image
By Ben Guterson, Chloe Bristol (Illustrator)
$8.99
On Our Shelves Now
Book Passage, Corte Madera Store
On hand as of Dec 3 8:45pm
(CHILD PICTURE BOOKS)
Book Passage, Ferry Building Store
On hand as of Dec 3 9:07pm
(CHILD PICTURE BOOKS)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Winterhouse series.

Description


Danger, intrigue, and the power of family combine in The Winterhouse Mysteries, the fast-paced conclusion to Ben Guterson and Chloe Bristol's illustrated, enchanting Winterhouse middle grade trilogy.

It’s springtime at Winterhouse and Elizabeth is settling into the joyful chaos of her new home. But it isn’t long before she and Freddy are drawn into an ominous new mystery. Guests at the hotel start behaving oddly, and Elizabeth’s powers manifest in thrilling—sometimes frightening—new ways. As unnatural tremors shake the foundations of Winterhouse, Elizabeth hears cries for help from Gracella Winters, a villain she’d thought dead and gone for good.

Elizabeth’s discovery of a rare book containing secrets of an ancient ritual leads to a tragic realization: someone at the hotel is trying to help Gracella rise again. Can Elizabeth and Freddy banish these threats and protect the future of Winterhouse once and for all?

Christy Ottaviano Books

About the Author


Ben Guterson was born and raised in Seattle. Before working at Microsoft as a Program Manager, Ben spent a decade teaching public school on the Navajo Reservation in New Mexico and in rural Colorado. He has written features and book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites, as well as a nature-travel guide to the Southwest. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle. Winterhouse is his first book.

Chloe Bristol is an animation artist whose work has been featured on Disney Junior and Cartoon Network, among others. She is also the illustrator of the popular Winterhouse series by Ben Guterson. She lives in Southern California.

Praise For…


Praise for Winterhouse:

An Edgar Award Nominee
An Agatha Award Nominee
An Indie Next List Pick
An Oklahoma Book Award Nominee

“Clever and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Filled with puzzles and magic, Guterson’s debut keeps suspense high as the secrets of Elizabeth’s past unwind. This satisfying mystery leaves just enough unanswered questions to have readers eager for the next book in this planned trilogy." —Publishers Weekly

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." —School Library Journal

"A natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello’s Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch." —Booklist

Praise for The Secrets of Winterhouse:

"Elizabeth is an appealing heroine, fond of reading and puzzles, confident in her intelligence, but she grapples with her temper and emotions and worries about fitting in at school or among people in general . . . An engaging blend of sleuthing, puzzle-solving, and magic." —Kirkus Reviews

"
Guterson’s rich mystery and lively characters will keep readers turning the page to solve the puzzles within and leave them eagerly anticipating the next book in this intriguing and magical series." —Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250762993
ISBN-10: 1250762995
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: December 29th, 2020
Pages: 400
Series: Winterhouse