The Power Plays (Paperback)

The Power Plays By George F. Walker Cover Image
Email or call for price


First published as a trilogy in 1986, The Power Plays contain Gossip (1977), Filthy Rich (1979), and The Art of War (1983). Completely revised and updated for this new Talonbooks edition, these three plays showcase both the development and the culmination of Walker's engagement with the film noir style.

About the Author

George F. WalkerGeorge F. Walker is one of Canada's most prolific and widely produced playwrights. His work has been honoured with eight Chalmers Awards and five Dora Awards. His plays Criminals in Love and Nothing Sacred each won Governor General's Awards for Drama. In 1999 Talonbooks released The East End Plays: Part One (which includes Criminals in Love, the Chalmer's Award-winning Better Living, and Escape from Happiness) and The Power Plays (a collection containing Gossip, Filthy Rich, and The Art of War).

Praise For…

"Walker has an eye for the ridiculous and an imagination that packs his plays with action."
New York Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780889224148
ISBN-10: 0889224145
Publisher: Talonbooks
Publication Date: January 1st, 1999
Pages: 208
Language: English