Friends Like These (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Friends Like These By Jennifer Lynn Alvarez Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"Sharp, atmospheric, and wildly fast-paced"—Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of They'll Never Catch Us

From the author of Lies Like Wildfire comes another page-turning thriller about the little lies we all tell before the truth sets us free—perfect for readers of Karen M. McManus and Diana Urban.


Mistake number one . . .

Fun-loving Jake tells his girlfriend, Jessica, that they have to go to Tegan’s end-of-summer party in their tiny California beach town. Jessica doesn’t like parties, and she doesn’t like Tegan, who has an obvious, obsessive crush on Jake. But she agrees to go, to make Jake happy. 

Mistake number two . . .

Something awful happens at the party. Something so embarrassing that Jessica doesn’t know if she can ever get over it—and Jake will do whatever it takes to earn her forgiveness. And now a girl is missing. Everyone is a suspect. And Jake seems to have a lot to hide. . . . 

When a body is discovered at the beach, friends start turning on friends, and lies start piling upon lies. What happened could destroy their lives. Keep your friends close and your enemies closer? Mistake number three . . .

About the Author


Jennifer Lynn Alvarez is the author of ten published novels, including the YA thriller Lies Like Wildfire and two middle-grade fantasy series, but this is not where she started. After earning her BA in English Literature from the University of California, Berkeley, Jennifer went into finance, of all things. It was many years and several rejected manuscripts later before she accomplished her childhood dream of becoming an author. Jennifer no longer works in finance and spends her days dreaming up stories. She also teaches creative writing classes through her local library, encouraging others to write their own stories. Jennifer divides her time between Northern California and Middle Tennessee with her husband, kids, and more than her fair share of pets. You can follow her on Instagram @jennifer_lynn_alvarez or Twitter @Jenniferdiaries. Visit her online at jenniferlynnalvarez.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Friends Like These:

"This drama sucks you right in."--Girls' Life

"Sharp, atmospheric, and wildly fast-paced, Friends Like These will leave you breathless as you rush to find out the truth hidden in the corners of Crystal Cove. A harrowing, nuanced portrayal of how far some will go to keep their secrets untold."—JESSICA GOODMAN, NYT bestselling author of They'll Never Catch Us

“This tangled story about terrible choices, mistaken assumptions, and the all-to-thin line between friends and enemies expertly cranks up the tension chapter-by-chapter until it leaves you dangling on the edge of a cliff and desperate for answers.”—GINNY MYERS SAIN, author of Dark and Shallow Lies

"Intoxicating and propulsive; an emotional rollercoaster that doesn't let up until the final, brutal twist."—ALEXA DONNE, author of The Ivies

"An intoxicating must-read thriller, with characters so raw and human, you'll feel the full force of every twist."—JARROD SHUSTERMAN, New York Times bestselling author of Dry

"With pulsing dialogue and believable action, the thriller raises the stakes at every turn. A fast-paced thriller to keep readers on the edges of their seats."—Kirkus

Praise for Lies Like Wildfire:

Five fiery stars for this bingeable, edge-of-your-seat, twisty thriller.”—NATASHA PRESTON, NYT bestselling author of The Lake

Twisty and fast-paced and visceral. I couldn’t put this one down.” —KATIE COTUGNO, NYT bestselling author of 99 Days

"Using her own experience with wildfire, the author tells a gripping tale about the line between loyalty to the people in your life and the value of telling the truth."—Entertainment Weekly

“An intense high-stakes story.”—The Nerd Daily

"Gripping, fast-paced, and addictive, the novel explores what happens when good people do bad things."—Brightly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593309674
ISBN-10: 0593309677
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: November 1st, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English