The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain (Mass Market Paperbound)

The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


For deft plotting, riotous inventiveness, unforgettable characters, and language that brilliantly captures the lively rhythms of American speech, no American writer comes close to Mark Twain. This sparkling anthology covers the entire span of Twain's inimitable yarn-spinning, from his early broad comedy to the biting satire of his later years.
Every one of his sixty stories is here: ranging from the frontier humor of -The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County, - to the bitter vision of humankind in -The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg, - to the delightful hilarity of -Is He Living or Is He Dead?- Surging with Twain's ebullient wit and penetrating insight into the follies of human nature, this volume is a vibrant summation of the career of-in the words of H. L. Mencken--the father of our national literature.-

About the Author

Mark Twain was born Samuel Langhorne Clemens in 1835. He gained national attention as a humorist in 1865 with the publication of "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County," but was acknowledged as a great writer by the literary establishment with The Adventures Of Huckleberry Finn (1885). In 1880, Twain began promoting and financing the ill-fated Paige typesetter, an invention designed to make the printing process fully automatic. At the height of his naively optimistic involvement in the technological "wonder" that nearly drove him to bankruptcy, he published his satire, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (1889). Plagued by personal tragedy and financial failure, Mark Twain spent the last years of his life in gloom and exasperation, writing fables about "the damned human race."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553211955
ISBN-10: 0553211951
Publisher: Bantam Classics
Publication Date: March 1st, 1984
Pages: 679
Language: English
Series: Bantam Classic