A First Book of Ravel: For the Beginning Pianist with Downloadable Mp3s (Paperback)

A First Book of Ravel: For the Beginning Pianist with Downloadable Mp3s By David Dutkanicz Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Although he worked within the traditions of his day, Maurice Ravel forged a distinctive musical language of his own. This collection of 29 specially arranged pieces offers beginners the pleasure and satisfaction of playing the French composer's most popular works.
Simplified arrangements include Musette, Menuet, Rigaudon, and Pr lude from Le tombeau de Couperin; Pantomime, Interlude, Danse l g re et gracieuse de Daphnis, and Lyceion Dance from Daphnis et Chlo ; March, Little Tom Thumb, and Conversation of Beauty and the Beast from Mother Goose Suite; Malague a and Pr lude la nuit from Rapsodie espagnole; and other selections. All pieces are available as downloadable MP3s (see inside the book for details).

About the Author

Composer, pianist, and conductor Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) is noted for his musical craftsmanship and perfection of form. A master of the art of instrumentation, he also enriched the piano repertoire with a series of classic works. His career highlights include collaborations with impresario Serge Diaghilev of the Ballets Russes and with French writer Colette, who acted as his librettist. Former Dover editor David Dutkanicz holds degrees from the Manhattan School of Music, New York University, and Columbia University. He is the editor of several books in this series.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780486839172
ISBN-10: 0486839176
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: March 18th, 2020
Pages: 48
Language: English