Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards (Paperback)

Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards Cover Image
By Larry Dark (Editor), Larry Dark (Introduction by)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


An Anchor Original
The 80th anniversary edition of "the nation's most prestigious awards for the short story."--"The Atlantic Monthly"
Established early in the last century as a memorial to O. Henry, throughout its history this annual collection has consistently offered a remarkable sampling of contemporary short stories. Each year stories are chosen from large and small literary magazines and a panel of distinguished writers is enlisted to award the top prizes. The result is a superb collection of twenty inventive, full-bodied stories representing the very best in American and Canadian fiction.

About the Author

Larry Dark is the editor of four other anthologies, Literary Outtakes, The Literary Ghost, The Literary Lover, and The Literary Traveler. He lives in Montclair, New Jersey. Michael Cunningham is the author, most recently, of The Hours, which won the Pulitzer Prize and the 1999 PEN/Faulkner Award. He lives in New York City. Pam Houston is the author of Cowboys Are My Business and Waltzing the Cat. She teaches at the University of California, Davis and lives in Colorado. George Saunders is the author CivilWarLand in Bad Decline and Pastoralia.

Praise For…

High praise for Prize Stories 1999:

"Prize Stories is eerier, broodier, chancier, and ultimately more alive to the genre's exhilarating unpredictability [than The Best American Short Stories]."--Entertainment Weekly

"Interesting and unconventional."--Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Product Details
ISBN: 9780385498777
ISBN-10: 0385498772
Publisher: Anchor Books
Publication Date: January 12th, 1999
Pages: 432
Language: English
Series: Pen / O. Henry Prize Stories