Prize Stories 1985: The O. Henry Awards (Anchor Literary Library) (Paperback)

Prize Stories 1985: The O. Henry Awards (Anchor Literary Library) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


"Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious awards for short fiction."--The Atlantic Monthly

The O. Henry Prize Stories 1985 gathers 21 of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines.

Stories include:
Jane Smiley "Lily" (first prize, jointly awarded)
Stuart Dybek "Hot Ice" (first prize, jointly awarded)
Ann Beattie "In the White Night"
Helen Norris "The Quarry"
Susan Minot "Lust"
Claude Koch "Bread and Butter Questions"
Wright Morris "Glimpse into Another Country"
Louise Erdrich "Saint Marie"
R. C. Hamilton "Da Vinci Is Dead"
Joseph McElroy "Daughter of the Revolution"
Steve Heller "The Crow Woman"
Ward Just "About Boston"
Tobias Wolff "Sister"
Gloria Norris "Holding On"
Peter Cameron "Homework"
Ilene Raymond "Taking a Chance on Jack"
Eric Wilson "The Axe, the Axe, the Axe"
Joyce Carol Oates "The Seasons"
Rolaine Hochstein "She Should Have Died Hereafter"
Josephine Jacobsen "The Mango Community"
John Updike "The Other"

About the Author

Born in 1919, William Abrahams published four successful novels and a number of poems before finding his true calling as an editor. He presided over the O. Henry Awards for more than 30 years starting in 1965. Abrahams also worked as the west coast editor of Atlantic Monthly Press and collaborated on nonfiction books with his partner, Peter Stansky. He passed away in 1998.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385194785
ISBN-10: 0385194781
Publisher: Doubleday Books
Publication Date: August 19th, 1985
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Anchor Literary Library