The Innocence Game (Paperback)

The Innocence Game Cover Image
Special Order


A cold case is about to do supernova and three students will learn the price of innocence.

At Northwestern's renowned journalism school, Ian Joyce has been invited to participate in a prestigious seminar that investigates wrongful convictions and forgotten cases. With only two other classmates--beautiful, strong-willed Sarah Gold and enigmatically brilliant Jake Havens--he begins to investigate the long-ago murder of a young boy, ten-year-old Skylar Wingate, last seen walking home from school, his body discovered three days later in a forest preserve. His alleged killer was murdered decades ago in jail. But two chilling clues delivered to Jake's house suggest that the killer is still very much alive, and, in fact, in their midst. As the evidence mounts, the three classmates find themselves drawn into web of distrust, deceit, and corruption that will lead from the grittiest corners of Chicago and to the shores of Lake Michigan.

About the Author

Michael Harvey is the author of The Chicago Way, The Fifth Floor, The Third Rail, and We All Fall Down, and is also a journalist and documentary producer. His work has received numerous national and international awards, including multiple news Emmys, two Primetime Emmy nominations, and an Academy Award nomination. He holds a law degree with honors from Duke University, a master's degree in journalism from Northwestern University, and a bachelor's degree, magna cum laude, in classical languages from Holy Cross College. He lives, of course, in Chicago.

Praise For…

Praise for Michael Harvey and The Innocence Game:

“Michael Harvey should be read by all.”—John Grisham

“Harvey does for the Windy City what Michael Connelly did for Los Angeles.” —Chicago Tribune

“Harvey’s the best Chicago novelist . . . since Nelson Algren.” —Cleveland Plain-Dealer

“Harvey [writes] with crack timing, never allowing the reader a moment to unfasten his seat belt.”—The Washington Post Book World

“Ingenious . . . Engrossing . . . Michael Harvey is a writer with a bright future.” —Illinois Times
“Harvey takes us into the dark underworld where guilt and innocence aren’t just debated in the courtroom—the losers lose big, and winners manage to simply survive . . . Complex, twisting plot, loaded with well-staged surprises, great summer read.” —Blue Heron Journal
“Michael Harvey portrays the city of Chicago and its environs to wonderful effect . . . Suspenseful from the start, the last third of the novel becomes much more than ‘just’ a page-turner, when I found that I could not put the book down until the final page, with an ending this reader absolutely did not see coming. It is highly recommended.” —Midwest Book Review 

“Wily and surprising . . . The appealing kids at the book’s center . . . leave us wanting more.” —Kirkus Reviews
“Ambitious . . . The suspense remains high throughout.” —Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780345802552
ISBN-10: 0345802551
Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard
Publication Date: April 8th, 2014
Pages: 241
Language: English
Series: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard