Places to Be (Hardcover)

Places to Be Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Renata Liwska (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the award-winning, bestselling Mac Barnett and Renata Liwska comes a classic and luminous book perfect for fans of The Quiet Book by Deborah Underwood and Waiting by Kevin Henkes.

With an elegant simplicity, this picture book celebrates all our wide-ranging emotions—and the adventures that await us each day.

We have so many places to be!

Places to be loud

and lovely

and scared

and jubilant.

 

About the Author


Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author whose books have been translated into more than thirty languages. His picture books include two Caldecott Honor–winning collaborations with Jon Klassen: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn. Among his other popular books are I Love You Like a Pig, illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, and The Magic Word, illustrated by Elise Parsley. He lives in Oakland, California. You can visit him online at www.macbarnett.com.



Renata Liwska grew up in Warsaw, Poland, and now lives in Calgary, Alberta. She is the illustrator of The Quiet Book and The Loud Book!, both written by Deborah Underwood and both New York Times bestsellers. For The Quiet Book, Renata Liwska was awarded the 2010 Society of Illustrators Gold Medal and was named a 2010 Governor General’s Literary Award finalist. Visit her online at www.renataliwska.com.

Praise For…


“Funny and gentle”
— Kirkus Reviews

“This winning read-aloud can be used to encourage friendship in young children.”
— School Library Journal

“A sweet and gentle contrast to Seuss’ Oh, the Places You’ll Go!”
— Booklist

Praise for EXTRA YARN: “Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for EXTRA YARN: “Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for EXTRA YARN: “There’s nothing to say but perfect.”
— Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of IT'S A BOOK

Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: “A clever second collaboration between Barnett and Klassen...The prose is deadpan; the joke’s all in Klassen’s winsomely smudgy illustrations.”
— New York Times Book Review

Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: “”Mind-blowing in the best possible way.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: “Barnett’s comic voice is at its driest as he recounts that quintessential American childhood activity—the digging of the giant hole.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “A tender, touching story of friendship and the power of imagination.”
— Booklist (starred review)

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “A warm and wise story about acceptance trumping difference.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “A whimsical tale from Barnett aptly accompanied by enthralling artwork by Robinson.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “Dazzling.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for THE SKUNK: “Gives off a deliciously Hitchockian air of high style and deep-seated dread. . . a story that speaks to the urbane existentialist/absurdist lurking in the heart of every reader.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for THE SKUNK: “Clever visual motifs, sly storytelling, and tight pacing make this a picture book that will be enjoyed by both children and their grown-ups.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for THE SKUNK: “McDonnell’s graceful and simple cartoonlike illustrations mitigate the notes of paranoia and obsession in Barnett’s deadpan text.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

Praise for THE SKUNK: “A daffy yet stylish readaloud with surprising performance possibilities.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062286215
ISBN-10: 0062286218
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Pages: 32
Language: English