Maureen Corrigan - So We Read On

Conceived nearly a century ago by a man who died believing himself a failure, it's now a revered classic and a rite of passage in the reading lives of millions. But how well do we really know The Great Gatsby? As Maureen Corrigan, Gatsby lover extraordinaire, points out, while Fitzgerald's masterpiece may be one of the most popular novels in America, many of us first read it when we were too young to fully comprehend its power.

Offering a fresh perspective on what makes Gatsby great-and utterly unusual-So We Read On takes us into archives, high school classrooms, and even out onto the Long Island Sound to explore the novel's hidden depths, a journey whose revelations include Gatsby's surprising debt to hard-boiled crime fiction, its rocky path to recognition as a "classic," and its profound commentaries on the national themes of race, class, and gender.

With rigor, wit, and infectious enthusiasm, Corrigan inspires us to re-experience the greatness of Gatsby and cuts to the heart of why we are, as a culture, "borne back ceaselessly" into its thrall. Along the way, she spins a new and fascinating story of her own.

Maureen Corrigan is the book critic for NPR's Fresh Air, the Critic-in-Residence at Georgetown University, and winner of the Edgar Award for Criticism. She is the author of Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780316230070
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 9/2014

John Branch - Boy on Ice

The Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's heartbreaking account of the life and shocking death of the toughest man in hockey. 

Derek Boogaard lived an almost mythic sports story: from pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan to a first NHL contract in Minnesota to the storied New York Rangers as the most feared enforcer in the league. A gentle young man, he was a brutal fighter on ice skates, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But his death at age twenty-eight from an overdose of painkillers in the wake of a series of concussions helped shatter the silence about violence in professional sports. Boy on Ice ($26.95) is New York Times reporter John Branch's chronicle of Boogaard's tragic life and death. A human story in the tradition of Friday Night Lights and The Blind Side, it's a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports-from peewees to professionals-and damage that reaches far beyond the game.

John Branch is a reporter for the New York Times. His "Snow Fall" won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing. He lives near San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780393239393
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 10/2014

Lauren Oliver - Rooms

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. But the Walkers are not alone. Long dead former residents linger within in the house's claustrophobic walls. Though their voices cannot be heard, they speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Lauren Oliver is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novel Before I Fall and the international bestselling Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. She is also the author of two novels for middle-grade readers, The Spindlers and Lisel & Po, which was a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, she lives in Brooklyn, New York. 

 

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94110

Rooms (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780062223197
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco Press, 9/2014

Margaret Paloma Pavel - Random Kindness and Senseless Acts of Beauty

Random Kindness and Senseless Acts of Beauty weaves a story of our world told through beautifully crafted animal figures and startlingly simple words packed with overwhelming truth. It show us on the edge of our world’s two potential futures: one of great violence and waste, and one of peaceful coexistence and growth.  This book makes us realize the power in our actions. It makes us realize that we create our world through random acts—acts such as planting a garden and making music with those around us. Random Kindness teaches that it is up to us to give sense to beautiful acts of creation instead of acts of destruction. We have the power to be good to one another, and to create a world of good.

Margaret Paloma Pavel is an international advocate of healthy, just, and resilient urban communities. She is founder and president of Earth House of Oakland, CA, founder of the Eco-Justice film series in the San Francisco Bay Area, and editor of Breakthrough Communities: Sustainability and Justice in the Next American Metropolis. Dr. Pavel holds a Master of Divinity from Harvard University as well as degrees in psychology and economics.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$15.95
ISBN-13: 9781613320150
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: New Village Press, 9/2014

Class: Leslie Keenan - You Can Complete That Book

10/02/2014 8:30 pm
Six Thursdays: Oct. 2 - Nov. 6 • 6:30-8:30pm • $240
 
 
 
 
 
 
Have you started a book but haven't been able to finish it? Leslie Keenan has 30 years of experience helping writers get their books done. She knows the most reasons writers get stuck and can help them get back in flow again. Students will leave with a strategy for completing their book. Also covered is advice on the best way to get a book published, including suggestions for agents, editors, publishers, and printers. 
 
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Andrea Martin - Lady Parts

Whether stealing scenes on the big screen in My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Hedwig and the Angry Inch, or starring on the stage in her recent Tony award winning role as Berthe in Pippin, Andrea Martin has long entertained audiences with her hilarious characterizations and heartwarming performances. Martin has worked stages, sets and even trapezes across North America, playing to houses packed with adoring fans, all of whom instantly recognize the star who has entertained us for nearly forty years.

In Andrea Martin’s Lady Parts, Martin, for the first time, shares her fondest remembrances of a life in show business, motherhood, relationships, no relationships, family, chimps in tutus, squirrels, and why she flies to Atlanta to get her hair cut. Martin opens up her heart in a series of eclectic, human, always entertaining and often moving essays. These stories will make you giggle and may make you cry. This is a powerful collection by a woman with a truly storied life.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Lady Parts (Hardcover)

$27.99
ISBN-13: 9780062387288
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Harper, 9/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs