Christina Nichol - Waiting for Electricity

The most exciting and hilarious debut novel in years, a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia--land of corruption, love, and power shortages. In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be: Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan.

Christina Nichol won the 2012 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award.  She grew up in the Bay Area and studied at the University of Oregon and received her MFA from the University of Florida. She has traveled widely, worked for nonprofit film companies, and has taught in India, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, and, of course, Georgia.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Overlook Press, 6/2014

Karen Page - The Vegetarian Flavor Bible

Throughout time, people have chosen to adopt a vegetarian or vegan diet for a variety of reasons, from ethics to economy to personal and planetary well-being. Experts now suggest a new reason for doing so: maximizing flavor - which is too often masked by meat-based stocks or butter and cream. The Vegetarian Flavor Bible ($40.00) is an essential guide to culinary creativity, based on insights from dozens of leading American chefs, representing such acclaimed restaurants as Crossroads and M.A.K.E. in Los Angeles; Candle 79, Dirt Candy, and Kajitsu in New York City, Green Zebra in Chicago, Greens and Millennium in San Francisco, Natural Selection and Portobello in Portland, Plum Bistro in Seattle, and Vedge in Philadelphia.

Emphasizing plant-based whole foods including vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds, the book provides an A-to-Z listing of hundreds of ingredients, from açaí to zucchini blossoms, cross-referenced with the herbs, spices, and other seasonings that best enhance their flavor, resulting in thousands of recommended pairings. The Vegetarian Flavor Bible is the ideal reference for the way millions of people cook and eat today-- vegetarians, vegans, and omnivores alike. This groundbreaking book will empower both home cooks and professional chefs to create more compassionate, healthful, and flavorful cuisine.

Karen Page is a two-time James Beard Award-winning author whose books include The Flavor Bible, which was named one of the year's best cookbooks on both Today and Good Morning America, one of the 100 best cookbooks of the last twenty-five years by Cooking Light, and one of the ten best cookbooks in the world of the past century by Forbes. The former Washington Post wine columnist is also the author of What to Drink with What You Eat, which was named the IACP Cookbook of the Year and Georges Duboeuf Wine Book of the Year. She lives with her husband, author and photographer Andrew Dornenburg, in New York City.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
Country:
United States
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9780316244183
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 10/2014

Book Group: John Hart - Reading the Poets

10/28/2014 9:00 pm
Eight Tuesdays: Oct. 28-Dec. 16 • 7:00-9:00 pm • $200
 
 
 
 
“To have great poets,” Walt Whitman said, “there must be great audiences, too.” What makes a poem worth reading? This group looks at famous poets from several centuries and from several literatures. Widely published local poet and author John Hart co-edits the venerable all-poetry journal Blue Unicorn, now in its 37th year.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Jim Dwyer - More Awesome Than Money

Diaspora has been tech news since day one, but the story reaches far beyond Silicon Valley to the now urgent issues about the future of the Internet. In More Awesome Than Money: Four Boys and Their Heroic Quest to Save Your Privacy from Facebook, New York Times bestselling author Jim Dwyer tells a riveting story of four ambitious and naÏve young men who tried to rebottle the genie of personal privacy—and paid the ultimate price.

Jim Dwyer is a Pulitzer Prize--winning reporter who writes the "About New York" column for The New York Times. He has written or co-written six books, including 102 Minutes, which spent twelve weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. He lives in New York City.

 

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9780670025602
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Adult, 10/2014

Charles Phan - The Slanted Door

Ticket: $45 (includes book and food samples)

 

 

The long-awaited cookbook from The Slanted Door, James Beard award-winning chef Charles Phan’s beloved San Francisco Vietnamese restaurant.

Charles Phan opened The Slanted Door in San Francisco’s Mission District in 1995, inspired by the food of his native Vietnam. Since then, The Slanted Door has moved across town to the historic Ferry Building and has grown into a world-class dining destination. Its accessible, modern take on classic Vietnamese dishes is adored by diners, chefs, and critics alike. The Slanted Door is a love letter to the restaurant, its people, and its food, featuring stories and essays along with to its most iconic recipes such as Seared Scallops with Vietnamese Beurre Blanc, Wok-Seared Eggplant with Satay Sauce, and Rack of Lamb with Tamarind Sauce. In addition to recipes, the book will include an extensive cocktail section, and essays on its esteemed wine program.

Charles Phan is the executive chef and owner of The Slanted Door family of restaurants. He received the James Beard Award for Best Chef California in 2004, and in 2011 was inducted into the James Beard Foundation’s list of Who’s Who of Food in America.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9781607740544
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ten Speed Press, 10/2014

Cooks with Books: Dorie Greenspan - Baking Chez Moi

Left Bank, Larkspur • Single $115; Couple $180 (one book)
 
 
 
 
 
In Baking Chez Moi, Dorie Greenspan focuses on pastries that are inspired by French tradition and by her travels around the country. The recipes include cakes (most simple, she claims), petit pastries, tarts and galettes, cookies, fruit desserts, creams, custards, puddings, and chocolate. She is the award winning author of Around my French Table.

Location: 
Street:
507 Magnolia Ave
City:
Larkspur
,
Postal Code:
94939
$40.00
ISBN-13: 9780547724249
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Rux Martin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 10/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs