Class: Lisa Gluskin Stonestreet - Poetry Revision Intensive

10/26/2014 12:00 pm

Sun., Oct. 26 • 10:00-12:00 pm • $60

 

 

Afraid to try new forms or do more than fiddle with line breaks? Bring in one to three poems you’re ready to look at anew. You’ll emerge with a bag of tricks for shaking up, reimagining, and dismantling/reassembling your writing, plus new directions for the piece you brought. Poet, editor, and teacher Lisa Gluskin Stonestreet is the author of The Greenhouse, forthcoming in July from Bull City Press, and Tulips, Water, Ash, winner of the 2009 Morse Poetry Prize.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

California Writers Club: Tanya Egan Gibson - How to Buy a Love of Reading

10/26/2014 4:00 pm

Asked to name her favorite book, sixteen-year-old Carley Wells answers, "Never met one I liked." Her parents are horrified and decide to commission a book to be written just for her. They will be the Medicis of Long Island and buy their daughter The Love of Reading. At first, Carley's sole interest in the project is to distract Hunter, the young bibliophile she adores. But as Hunter's behavior becomes increasingly erratic, Carley begins to understand the importance of stories-and how they are powerful enough to destroy a person. Or save her.

Tanya Egan Gibson's debut novel is an irresistible work of metafiction that dazzlingly embeds a book within the book, and boasts an unforgettably fresh narrator whose journey towards embracing literature will make you fall in love with reading all over again.

Tanya Egan Gibson lives in Marin County, California. How to Buy a Love of Reading is her first novel.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$17.00
ISBN-13: 9780452296091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Plume, 7/2010

Alice Simpson - Ballroom

An elderly, misanthropic dance instructor... A painfully shy bachelor... An unhappily married man... A restless divorcee... A beautiful, studious young woman and her ambitious dance partner... Though strangers, each with a shameful secret, they all share one passion: dance. In her debut novel, Ballroom, Alice Simpson draws readers into the lives and yearnings of six lonely souls who seek solace every Sunday night in the faded grandeur of a New York City dance hall. By 1999, the ballroom, across from Union Square Park, has seen better days. The upholstery is torn; the ceiling is leaking; even the floor is in need of repairs. Still, in the dim light and dazzling blur of dance after dance—Viennese waltz, giddy Peabody, and quirky quickstep, the provocative pulse of mambo, fox-trot, and tango—ordinary men and women can escape reality, with all its drudgery, disappointments, and torments, to search for their dreams. Told in interconnecting stories, Ballroom reveals the troubled pasts and hidden demons of ballroom regulars as their paths cross, in poignant and startling ways, both on and off the dance floor.

Alice Simpson is an accomplished visual artist who has taught drawing and design at FIT, the School of Visual Arts, the New School, and Otis-Parsons. She has been widely exhibited and won international acclaim for her works of sculpture and series of handcrafted artist books about dance, including Swing!, Dirty Dancing, Rumba, Urban Motion, and Tango Bar.

Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111

Ballroom (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780062323033
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper, 9/2014

Joe Clifford - Lamentation

In a frigid New Hampshire winter, Jay Porter is trying to eke out a living and maintain some semblance of a relationship with his former girlfriend and their two-year-old son. When he receives an urgent call that Chris, his drug-addicted and chronically drunk brother, is being questioned by the sheriff about his missing junkie business partner, Jay feels obliged to come to his rescue. After Jay negotiates his brother's release from the county jail, Chris disappears into the night. As Jay begins to search for him, he is plunged into a cauldron of ugly lies and long-kept secrets that could tear apart his small hometown and threaten the lives of Jay and all those he holds dear. In the incredibly supsenseful Lamentation, powerful forces come into play that will stop at nothing until Chris is dead and the information he harbors is destroyed.

Joe Clifford acts as acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and managing editor of The Flash Fiction Offensive. He also produces Lip Service West, a "gritty, real, raw" reading series in Oakland, CA. Joe is the author of three books: Choice Cuts, Wake the Undertaker, and Junkie Love. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Lamentation (Hardcover)

$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781608091331
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oceanview Publishing, 10/2014

Terry Shames - Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek

In Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek, the town is bankrupt. Gary Dellmore, heir apparent to the main bank, is dead, apparently murdered. Samuel Craddock thought he was retired but now he's been asked to return as police chief. Dellmore supposedly had a roving eye, although his wife says he was never serious about dallying. Still, Craddock wonders: Did the husbands and fathers of women he flirted with think he was harmless? What about his current lover, who insists that Dellmore was going to leave his wife for her?

Craddock discovers that Dellmore had a record of bad business investments. Even worse, he took a kickback from a loan he procured, which ultimately drove the town into bankruptcy. Many people had motive to want Dellmore dead.

Then the investigation turns up another crime. As Craddock digs down to the root of this mess, many in Jarrett Creek are left wondering what happened to the innocence of their close-knit community.

Terry Shames is the author of A Killing at Cotton Hill and The Last Death of Jack Harbin, the first two Samuel Craddock mysteries. She is the coeditor of Fire in the Hills, a book of stories, poems, and photographs about the 1991 Oakland Hills Fire. She grew up in Texas and continues to be fascinated by the convoluted loyalties and betrayals of the small town where her grandfather was the mayor.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States
$15.95
ISBN-13: 9781616149963
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Seventh Street Books, 10/2014

Christina Nichol - Waiting for Electricity

The most exciting and hilarious debut novel in years, a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia--land of corruption, love, and power shortages. In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be: Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan.

Christina Nichol won the 2012 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award.  She grew up in the Bay Area and studied at the University of Oregon and received her MFA from the University of Florida. She has traveled widely, worked for nonprofit film companies, and has taught in India, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, and, of course, Georgia.

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781468306866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Overlook Press, 6/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs