Class: Wendy Walsh - Low Intermediate Italian

09/08/2014 2:25 pm
Nine Mondays: Sept. 8-Nov. 10 (no class Nov. 3) • 12:40-2:25 pm • $280
 
 
 
Wendy Walsh has a Ph.D. in Italian Literature from UCB. She has been teaching Italian language, literature, and cooking since 1979. Join Wendy after class in the café for informal Italian conversation.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Luanne Rice - The Lemon Orchard

Set in the sea and citrus-scented air of the breathtaking Santa Monica Mountains, The Lemon Orchard is an affirming story about the redemptive power of compassion and the kind of love that seems to find us when we need it most. In the five years since Julia last visited her aunt and uncle’s home in Malibu, her life has been turned upside down by her daughter’s death. She expects to find nothing more than peace and solitude as she house-sits with only her dog, Bonnie, for company. But she finds herself drawn to the handsome man who oversees the lemon orchard. Roberto expertly tends the trees, using the money to support his extended Mexican family. What connection could these two people share? The answer comes as Roberto reveals the heartbreaking story of his own loss—a pain Julia knows all too well, but for one striking difference: Roberto’s daughter was lost but never found. And despite the odds he cannot bear to give up hope

Luanne Rice is the New York Times bestselling author of thirty one novels. Her novels, including Cloud Nine and Last Kiss, often center on love, family, nature and the sea, and have been translated into twenty-four languages. A number of Rice's novels have been adapted for television. She has contributed a theatrical piece to the new off Broadway play Motherhood Out Loud. Rice loves nature and frequently writes about it. Born in Connecticut, Rice divides her time between New York City and Southern California.

 

 

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

The Lemon Orchard (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780143125563
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Penguin Books, 5/2014

Class: Wendy Walsh - High Intermediate Italian

09/09/2014 10:45 am
Nine Tuesdays: Sept. 9-Nov. 11 (no class Nov. 4) • 9:00-10:45 am • $280
 
 
 
 
Wendy Walsh has a Ph.D. in Italian Literature from UCB. She has been teaching Italian language, literature, and cooking since 1979. Join Wendy after class in the café for informal Italian conversation.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Class: Graciela Pera - Advanced Spanish

09/09/2014 12:00 pm
Eight Tuesdays: Sept. 9-Oct. 28 • 10:00-12:00pm • $250
 
 
 
 
Graciela Pera was born in Buenos Aires. She is a graduate of the University of Buenos Aires and has been teaching Spanish for over 35 years.

Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
Country:
United States

Book Group: Pat Holt - Contemporary Classics

09/09/2014 12:30 pm
Five Tuesdays: Sept. 9, Oct. 14, Nov. 11, Dec. 9, & Jan. 13 • 10:30-12:30pm • $105
 
 
 
 
Pat Holt leads a discussion of books that have captured the contemporary imagination. Holt is the former book review editor of the San Francisco Chronicle and publisher of Holt Uncensored.
 
September: Schroder, Amity Gage
October: We Need New Names, NoViolet Bulawayo,
November: A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Anthony Marra
December: Young God, Katherine Faw Morris
January: All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925

Schroder (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9781455512126
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Twelve, 10/2013

We Need New Names (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780316230841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Back Bay Books, 5/2014

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780770436421
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Hogarth, 2/2014

Young God (Hardcover)

$24.00
ISBN-13: 9780374534233
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 5/2014

$31.99
ISBN-13: 9781410470225
Large Print
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Thorndike Press, 7/2014

Anne Germanacos - Tribute

In her masterful second book, Anne Germanacos gets right down to the elemental: the single line. Tribute ($16.00) is a work of prose--novel, essay, experiment in narrative?--created from distinct lines, a work of continual shape-shift and exhilarating motion. Tribute chronicles the daily life of a woman whose mother is dying and who begins to see a psychoanalyst, a woman who lives among lovers, sisters, and children, across continents and their conflicts (New York, San Francisco, Crete, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine). The book that results offers us both her story--forcefully sensual, vibrantly lived--and, through its bold form, her complex relationship to story.

Germanacos's restless relationship to form is born of that most essential restlessness: desire. In Tribute she documents desire's manifold incarnations, the body's and the mind's; she pays beautiful tribute to the force of desire and to those who have been bold enough to try to comprehend it--gentle echoes remind us of H.D. and her Freud. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector, David Markson, and Marguerite Duras, Tribute takes us deep into the borderlands where fiction and nonfiction meet. The first book in Rescue Press's new series of innovative prose, this is a work of profound ambition and rare urgency.

Anne Germanacos is the author of the short-story collection In the Time of the Girls. Together with her husband, Nick Germanacos, she ran the Ithaka Cultural Studies Program on the islands of Kalymnos and Crete. She now runs the Germanacos Foundation in San Francisco.
 
Location: 
Street:
1 Ferry Building
City:
San Francisco
,
Postal Code:
94111
Country:
United States

Tribute (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780988587342
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Rescue Press, 5/2014



View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs