Tracie McMillan - The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table

Saturday, October 20, 2012 - 4:00pm

Tracie McMillan talks about The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table ($16.00). After going undercover to labor in the fields of industrial farms, stock groceries at Walmart, and work in the kitchen at Applebee’s, McMillan has eye-opening tales to tell about the people behind our food and the inner workings of the corporate food system.

Tracie McMillan has written about food, poverty, and the politics of both for The New York Times, Harper’s Magazine, Mother Jones, Slate, Saveur and Gastronomica, among others. She received her BA in political science from New York University in 1999 and became the managing editor of the award-winning, independent magazine City Limits, where she won numerous awards and honors for her features on poverty and food.

 

 

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us
$25.00
ISBN: 9781439171950
Availability: Special Order
Published: Scribner Book Company - February 21st, 2012

In the tradition of Barbara Ehrenreich’s Nickel and Dimed, an ambitious and accessible work of undercover journalism that fully investigates our food system to explain what keeps Americans from eating well—and what we can do about it.