Sally Bedell Smith - Prince Charles (Corte Madera)

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 7:00pm

From Sally Bedell Smith -- the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen -- comes Prince Charles, an illuminating and revelatory new biography of the man who has waited his whole life to be King. The first major biography of Prince Charles in over 20 years, this work is filled with fresh insights into his marriages and his family, and draws on extensive access to Charles’s inner circle.

This in-depth look at Prince Charles brings to life the real man, with all of his contradictions, complexities, and ambitions. Beginning with his lonely childhood, and moving through his love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, the tragedy of his marriage to Diana, and his eventual reunion with his true love Camilla—this is a riveting, insightful portrait of a man who possesses a fiercely independent spirit, and yet who has spent more than six decades waiting for his destined role. Smith writes of the women who loved him, including Camilla, and the women who didn’t love him enough, including his mother and Diana; and she writes of the next generation of royals, including the beloved William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren. Sally Bedell Smith has created a surprising, multifaceted portrait of Charles and his world—a man more complicated, tragic, and compelling than we knew, until now.

Sally Bedell Smith is the author of the bestselling biographies of William S. Paley, Pamela Harriman, Diana, Princess of Wales, John and Jacqueline Kennedy, Bill and Hillary Clinton, and Queen Elizabeth II. A contributing editor at Vanity Fair since 1996, she previously worked at Time and The New York Times, where she was a cultural news reporter.


 

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781400067909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - April 4th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - From the author of Elizabeth the Queen comes the first major biography of Prince Charles in more than twenty years--perfect for fans of The Crown.