Ru Freeman - On Sal Mal Lane

Monday, June 10, 2013 - 6:00pm

On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the neighbors adapt to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small rivalries. But the tremors of civil war are mounting, and the conflict threatens to engulf them all. In a heartrending novel poised between the past and the future, the innocence of the children—a beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, a rejected son and his twin sisters, two very different brothers—contrasts sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care. In Ru Freeman’s masterful hands, On Sal Mal Lane ($26.00), a story of what was lost to a country and her people, becomes a resounding cry for reconciliation.

Ru Freeman is the author of A Disobedient Girl. She is an activist and journalist whose work appears internationally. She calls both Sri Lanka and America home.

 

Location: 
1 Ferry Building
94111 San Francisco
us
$26.00
ISBN: 9781555976422
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - May 14th, 2013

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war