Meredith Maran - The New Old Me (Corte Madera)

Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 7:00pm

In conversation with Ramona Ausubel

..........................................................................................................................

“By turns poignant and funny…a spirited and moving memoir about how "it's never too late to try something new.” —Kirkus Reviews

“When Meredith Maran lost her best friend, her money, and her marriage to the woman of her dreams at age 60, she could have become a bitter, angry woman. Instead she made a new, vibrant life for herself in a new, vibrant city, with a new job, new friends, new lovers, and an old bungalow among the lime trees. The spirit, resilience, and hilarity on display in The New Old Me offers hope for living soulfully and zestfully no matter what life gives us—now, and at every age.” — Ayelet Waldman

The New Old Me is a book I don’t just want to read – I need to read it. So does everyone else who’s getting older and wants to live fully, with immediacy and enjoyment, which is to say, everyone.” —Anne Lamott
 
"The New Old Me is funny, tough, sweet, and always charming." —Meg Wolitzer

"Meredith’s wrenching, redemptive journey is a heartfelt, wise meditation on the challenges women face today as we age, and the creativity with which we’re facing them."—Susan Orlean

..........................................................................................................................

For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman comes The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention, a “lusty, kickass” post-divorce memoir, one woman’s story of starting over at 60—in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.

After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life’s savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran—whom Anne Lamott calls “insightful, funny, and human”—leaves her San Francisco freelance writer’s life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes “a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time” (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Orphan Train). 

Meredith Maran is the author of a novel and ten nonfiction books, including Why We Write and Why We Write About Ourselves, and the San Francisco Chronicle bestsellers Dirty, Class Dismissed,and What It’s Like to Live Now. Maran lives in a renovated 1926 bungalow in Silverlake, Los Angeles.

 

Location: 
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925
The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399574139
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Blue Rider Press - March 14th, 2017

"A funny, seasoned take on dashed illusions."--O Magazine