Joanna Hershon & Hilary Reyl - Author Double Feature

Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 6:00pm

Authors Joanna Hershon and Hilary Reyl come together to share their latest respective novels in an evening of readings and discussion.

...............................................................................................

Can a friendship define your view of the world? Spanning from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the present-day stock market collapse, with locations as diverse as Dar es Salaam, Boston, Shenzhen, and Fishers Island, Joanna Hershon's A Dual Inheritance ($26.00) asks this question, as it follows not only these two men, but the complicated women in their vastly different lives. And as Ed and Hugh grow farther and farther apart, they remain uniquely—even surprisingly—connected.

Joanna Hershon is the author of The German Bride, The Outside of August, and Swimming. She has received fellowships from Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and the Edward Albee Foundation. An adjunct assistant professor in the creative writing department at Columbia University, she lives in Brooklyn with her husband, the painter Derek Buckner, and their twin sons.

...............................................................................................

It’s 1989, the Berlin Wall is coming down, and Kate has just graduated from Yale, eager to pursue her dreams as a fledgling painter. When she receives a job offer to work as the assistant to Lydia Schell, a famous American photographer in Paris, she immediately accepts. It’s a chance not only to be at the center of it all, but also to return to France for the first time since she was a lonely nine-year-old girl, sent to the outskirts of Paris to live with cousins while her father was dying. In compelling and sympathetic prose, Hilary Reyl perfectly captures this portrait of a precocious, ambitious young woman struggling to define herself in a vibrant world that spirals out of her control. Lessons in French ($24.00) is at once a love letter to Paris and the story of a young woman finding herself, her moral compass, and, finally, her true family.

Hilary Reyl has a Ph.D. in French literature from NYU with a focus on the nineteenth century and has spent several years working and studying in France. She lives in New York City with her husband and three children.

 

Location: 
1 Ferry Building
94111 San Francisco
us
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345468475
Availability: Special Order
Published: Ballantine Books - May 7th, 2013

For readers of "Rules of Civility" and "The Marriage Plot, " Joanna Hershon's "A Dual Inheritance" is an engrossing novel of passion, friendship, betrayal, and class--and their reverberations across generations.


$24.00
ISBN: 9781451655032
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 5th, 2013

It’s 1989, the Berlin Wall is coming down, and Kate has just graduated from Yale, eager to pursue her dreams as a fledgling painter. When she receives a job offer to work as the assistant to Lydia Schell, a famous American photographer in Paris, she immediately accepts.