Christopher Cerf & Paige Peterson - Blackie


A special event for kids!
 
Meet Blackie, the stubbornly motionless equine hero of the delightful and touching biography-in-verse, Blackie: The Horse Who Stood Still ($16.95). This (mostly) true tale tells the heart-warming story of a horse who made standing stock-still a lifelong endeavor-while becoming a champion rodeo horse, a tourist favorite at Yosemite Park, a legendary environmental crusader, and the beloved mascot of one of America's most beautiful towns, Tiburon, California.

Magically illustrated by lyrical paintings, Blackie is destined to become a children's classic in the tradition of Munro Leaf's Ferdinand the Bull and Dr. Seuss's The Lorax, The playful, clever, rhyming text will charm adults and children alike as it delivers an important message about appreciating and preserving the natural beauty around us. 

Christopher Cerf is an author, composer-lyricist, record and television producer, editor, and cofounder and president of the educational television production company, Sirius Thinking, Ltd. Since its first season in 1970, Cerf has played a pivotal role in the creation and production of the Sesame Street television program, most notably as a regular contributor of music and lyrics. In the process, he has won two Grammy Awards and three Emmy Awards for songwriting and music production. Currently, Cerf serves as Co-Executive Producer of Between the Lions, the multiple Emmy-award-winning children's literacy series, created by his company for PBS.

Paige Peterson is a noted New York artist who has also appeared on Oprah and Lifetime Television's Our Home, and who has designed and styled segments for ABC's Good Morning America. Her paintings are exhibited regularly in galleries across the country, and in 2003 she was selected for membership in the prestigious Guild Hall Academy of the Arts. While growing up in Belvedere-Tiburon, California, Paige walked down the old railroad tracks to Blackie's pasture and fed him apples, carrots, and sugar cubes until Blackie's death in 1966. She lives and works in New York City.
 
Location: 
Street:
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
City:
Corte Madera
,
Postal Code:
94925
$16.95
ISBN-13: 9781599621302
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Welcome Books, 5/2014



Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Order a Signed Copy Today!

Can't make it to an event? Want a signed copy?

Order a signed book by adding it to your  cart and noting "Signed Copy" in the comments field at checkout. Signed copies available at no extra charge while supplies last.

WE SHIP GLOBALLY!
Questions?  Email orders@bookpassage.com
or call (415) 927-0960