Events


Select event terms to filter by
« Week of February 16, 2014 »
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
16
Start: 1:00 pm

So The Echo ($49.95) visually weaves the past five years for Brandon Boyd, who spent much time honing his craft, displaying his work, and using art as a tool for activism. Beautifully designed, the book reveals many new sketches and works with watercolor and other experimental techniques, as well as very personal photos and journal entries. There is a breath and space to the book and artwork that is a departure from his previous publications but the intimacy remains very much in tact.

Born February 15, 1976, Brandon Boyd grew up in Calabasas, California. In 1991 he began singing and writing song lyrics with high school friends in what would become the multi-platinum selling and internationally recognized rock band, Incubus. In 2011 the band released their seventh studio album entitled ‘If Not Now, When?’ and toured all of South America together as recently as December of last year.

Brandon’s life is certainly one characterized by creativity and self-expression, and though best known as a musician, he is also visual artist for whom art has played a consistent and powerful role throughout his life. He is the author of three books combining his artwork, photography and creative writing: White Fluffy Clouds (2003),  From the Murks of the Sultry Abyss (2007), and his most recent publication, So The Echo, released last September (2013).

 

Start: 1:00 pm

We all know someone who has suffered a heart attack, but how often do we learn intimate details that might help us deal with coronary artery disease before it strikes? In The Sanctuary of Illness ($15.00), Thomas Larson tells a powerful and personal story of what happens when our arteries fail us. Thomas Larson has been a staff writer for the San Diego Reader for fifteen years.

 

Start: 4:00 pm

Why Are You So Sad? ($15.00) is Jason Porter’s brilliant debut novel—a wry and uniquely told story of one man determined to find out whether or not the world needs saving. This is a sardonic, existential page-turner for fans of Sam Lipsyte, George Saunders, and Meg Wolitzer. Porter has been an editor, teacher, musician, and painter.

 

17
Start: 7:00 pm
C-SPAN will be performing a live filming of this event.
 
In the chaos following WWII, some of the greatest spoils of Germany’s resources were the Third Reich’s scientific minds. Operation Paperclip: The Secret Intelligence Program that Brought Nazi Scientists to America ($28.00) by Annie Jacobsen reveals the secret U.S. government plan—nicknamed Operation Paperclip—to utilize the knowledge and work of Nazi scientist war criminals.
 
18
Start: 7:00 pm

From National Book Award-finalist David Kertzer, an explosive book that exposes the fractious, co-dependent relationship between Pope Pius XI and Mussolini.

With the recent opening of the Vatican archives covering Pius XI's papacy, the full story of his dealings with the Italian dictator can be told for the first time in The Pope and Mussolini: The Secret History of Pius XI and the Rise of Fascism in Europe ($32.00). The two men -- one scholarly and devout, the other an anti-clerical rabble-rouser-came to power in Rome in the same year, 1922. Contrary to the widely accepted account of this time, in which a heroic Church does battle with the Fascist regime, David Kertzer shows that Mussolini would not have been able to impose his dictatorship on Italy without the pope's support. In exchange, the pope expected Mussolini to use his repressive reach to enforce Catholic morality. Even in the face of Mussolini's increasing embrace of Hitler, each man relied on the other to consolidate his power and pursue his political goals. Reaching from Sistine Chapel conclaves to roaring Fascist crowds, The Pope and Mussolini is a thrilling history, surprising and finely-wrought.

David Kertzer is the Paul Dupee, Jr. University Professor of Social Science and professor of anthropology and Italian studies at Brown University, where he served as provost from 2006 to 2011. He is the author of nine books, including The Popes Against the Jews, which was a finalist for the Mark Lynton History Prize, and The Kidnapping of Edgardo Mortara, which was a finalist for the National Book Award. He has twice been awarded the Marraro Prize from the Society for Italian Historical Studies for the best work on Italian history. He and his wife, Susan, live in Providence.

 

 

 

19
Start: 6:00 pm

Described by comics pioneer Will Eisner as “one of the most awesome undertakings in modern comic book history,” Jack Katz’s First Kingdom Vol. I: The Birth of Tundran & Vol. II: The Galaxy Hunters ($24.99) are Homeric post-apocalyptic graphic novels featuring Tundran, a new hero in the vein of Odysseus and Beowulf.

 

 

Start: 7:00 pm
Moriarty Returns a Letter ($24.99) is the latest installment in Michael Robertson’s charming and innovative Baker Street Mystery series, where brothers Reggie and Nigel Heath are charged with answering letters to Holmes that arrive at their law office, located at 221B Baker Street. Previous titles include The Baker Street Translation and The Brothers of Baker Street.
 
20
Start: 6:00 pm

From Michelle Richmond, the New York Times bestselling author of The Year of Fog, comes a compelling new novel Golden State ($15.00). In her new book Richmond explores themes of grief, responsibility, marriage, and family crisis. She takes readers on a life-altering journey that transpires over the course of one unforgettable day.

 

Start: 7:00 pm

Join Don George and Diana Saint James as they provide information on their upcoming conference at sea! Cruise Like a Travel Writer: A Mediterranean Workshop takes place Sept. 5-12, with stops in Croatia, Crete, Rhodes, and Ephesus. Don’t miss this special event for full details on a once-in-a-lifetime adventure!

 

21
Start: 7:00 pm
Co-Sponsored by A Band of Women
 
Karen Lynch was an unlikely person to become one of the first female cops in San Francisco. Good Cop, Bad Daughter: Memoirs of an Unlikely Police Officer ($15.95) is an often humorous, poignant adventure story of Karen’s journey from pot-smoking Cal student, to bar-serving wench, to street cop. Lynch joined the S.F. Police Department in 1981. 
 
22
Start: 10:00 am
End: 4:00 pm
Sat. Feb. 22 • 10:00-4:00 pm • $105
 
 
 
 
Character-driven—it’s one way to ensure that your writing is compelling. But how do you create characters that captivate a reader? Digging up all you’ll need to create characters that jump from the page can be as complicated as a covert operation. This workshop includes plenty of in-class exercises and amusing tips on craft.
 
Linda Watanabe McFerrin is the founder of Left Coast Writers®. Her latest novel, Dead Love, a global supernatural thriller, was a Bram Stoker Award finalist.
 
Class Credit: Participants in these classes may receive credit at Dominican University: bookpassage.com/dominican-credit
 
 
Start: 11:00 am

Until now, no book has addressed the unique concerns of those over 50 who are exploring or adopting a vegan diet. Never Too Late to Go Vegan ($15.95)  fills that void. It explains the specific health benefits of a plant-rich vegan diet for those over 50, and how best to embark upon and maintain this way of eating. And it includes 75 delicious, easy vegan recipes to meet the changing nutritional needs that come with aging.

The authors bring close to 75 years of vegan life experience to this book-and help readers prepare for and solve the many thorny issues that affect vegans over 50 (and that younger people do not face), including: how to manage the stress on relationships when lifelong patterns are changed; how your vegan lifestyle can affect socializing and retirement choices; how to handle friends and family who may expect to find favorite, familiar foods when visiting; and how to care for aging friends and family who are not vegan.

Patti Breitman is an advocate for health and animals, a writer and an expert public speaker. She teaches vegetarian cooking classes in Marin County, Calif., where she also lives. Patti is the director of the Marin Vegetarian Education Group and a former food columnist for VegNews Magazine. Her writing is often published on VegSource.com. Patti is the coauthor (with Connie Hatch) of How to Say No Without Feeling Guilty and (with Carol J.Adams) of How To Eat Like a Vegetarian, Even If You Never Want to Be One.

 

Start: 4:00 pm

Inspired by debut author Natalie Baszile’s own life and family history, Queen Sugar ($27.95) is a mother-daughter story of reinvention—about an African American woman who inherits a sugarcane farm in Louisiana, and the new life and new family it brings together. Offering a rare glimpse into the little-known and complicated world of Louisiana sugarcane farming, Queen Sugar is a story of Southern wisdom, unexpected love and second chances.

Queen Sugar is the story of Charley Bordelon, a recently widowed mother of an 11 year old girl struggling to get by in Los Angeles, whose late father leaves her her eight hundred acres of prime sugarcane land in Louisiana with the stipulation that she must farm it or lose it. No amount of planning can prepare Charley for a Louisiana that’s mired in the past:  Cane farming is very much a white man’s business, and her grandmother, Miss Honey, is far thornier than she remembers. As the sweltering south Louisiana summer unfolds, a troubled brother threatens Charley’s cane operation with violence and theft, and she must struggle to balance the overwhelming challenges of her farm with the demands of a homesick daughter, a judgmental and unpredictable grandmother, and the startling desires of her own heart.

When author Natalie Baszile’s father left Louisiana as a teenager in 1954, he vowed never to return.  Everything about the south—from the brutal segregation to the weeds pushing through cracks in the sidewalk—repulsed him. He trained his eye on California and never looked back. Years later, his Southern Californian daughter Natalie had a different view and found herself drawn to the warmth of her Louisiana relatives, intrigued by the cast of characters who lived in her grandmother’s tiny town, and stories she’d heard about family secrets, rivalries and feuds. While writing this novel, she questioned her father extensively about her family history and made several trips back to the region, visiting with relatives and helping out during sugarcane harvesting season as part of her research for the book. 

Natalie Baszile has an M.A. in Afro-American Studies from UCLA and earned an M.F.A. at the Warren Wilson Program for Writers where she was a Holden Minority Scholar. 

 



Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Order a Signed Copy Today!

Can't make it to an event? Want a signed copy?

Order a signed book by adding it to your  cart and noting "Signed Copy" in the comments field at checkout. Signed copies available at no extra charge while supplies last.

WE SHIP GLOBALLY!
Questions?  Email orders@bookpassage.com
or call (415) 927-0960