Events


Select event terms to filter by
« Friday July 19, 2013 »
Fri
Start: 10:30 am
End: 12:30 pm
5 Fridays: July 19-Aug. 30 (no class July 26 or Aug. 9) • 10:30-12:30pm • $135  An in-depth exploration of the masterpieces in this gem of a museum. The survey includes a history of the museum, its Ancient, Egyptian and near Eastern works, its sculpture collection including Rodin, and the important works on paper collected by the Achenbach Foundation. Hear three lectures on European painting: Medieval and Renaissance works from Italy, Germany and Spain; 17th &18th century works from the Netherlands, Italy, France, and England.  
Start: 12:00 pm
The ticket price of $55 includes lunch and a signed bookCall (415) 927-0960 ext. 1 or click the button below to register.   Introduction by author Gail Tsukiyama! From the New York Times–bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club comes We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, the story of an American family, middle class in middle America, ordinary in every way but one. But that exception is the beating heart of this extraordinary novel.Meet the Cooke family: Mother and Dad, brother Lowell, sister Fern, and our narrator, Rosemary, who begins her story in the middle. She has her reasons. “I spent the first eighteen years of my life defined by this one fact: that I was raised with a chimpanzee,” she tells us. “It’s never going to be the first thing I share with someone. I tell you Fern was a chimp and already you aren’t thinking of her as my sister. But until Fern’s expulsion, I’d scarcely known a moment alone. She was my twin, my funhouse mirror, my whirlwind other half, and I loved her as a sister.”Karen Joy Fowler is the author of three story collections and six novels, one a national bestseller, another a PEN/Faulkner finalist, and all New York Times Notable Books. She lives in Santa Cruz, California.Book Passage hosts literary luncheons with celebrated authors at our Marin store. These events are catered by the outstanding Insalata’s Restaurant of San Anselmo. 
Start: 7:00 pm
For years, best friends Sarah and Jennifer kept what they called the “Never List”:  a list of actions to be avoided, for safety’s sake, at all costs.  But one night, against their best instincts, they accept a cab ride with grave, everlasting consequences. For the next three years, they are held captive with two other girls in a dungeon-like cellar by a connoisseur of sadism. Ten years later, at thirty-one, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life, living as a virtual recluse under a new name, unable to come to grips with the fact that Jennifer didn’t make it out of that cellar. Now, her abductor is up for parole and Sarah can no longer ignore the twisted letters he sends from jail. Finally, Sarah decides to confront her phobias and the other survivors—who hold their own deep grudges against her. When she goes on a cross-country chase that takes her into the perverse world of BDSM, secret cults, and the arcane study of torture, she begins unraveling a mystery more horrifying than even she could have imagined. A shocking, blazingly fast read, Koethi Zan’s debut The Never List ($27.95) is a must for fans of Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and S.J. Watson.Koethi Zan was born and raised in rural Alabama, then moved to New York City after earning a J.D. from Yale Law School. She practiced entertainment law for more than fifteen years, working in film, television, and theater, most recently at MTV. She now lives in upstate New York with her husband and children. 


Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Order a Signed Copy Today!

Can't make it to an event? Want a signed copy?

Order a signed book by adding it to your  cart and noting "Signed Copy" in the comments field at checkout. Signed copies available at no extra charge while supplies last.

WE SHIP GLOBALLY!
Questions?  Email orders@bookpassage.com
or call (415) 927-0960